Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.


Expand Messages
  • Bruce Potter at IRF
    [A copy of this announcement is also attached as a .PDF document if you want to print and post or otherwise disseminate this announcement broadly to
    Message 1 of 1 , Jan 16, 2013

      [A copy of this announcement is also attached as a ".PDF" document if 
      you want to print and post or otherwise disseminate this announcement 
      broadly to residents of the insular Caribbean. This announcement is 
      also posted on our blog at <
      http://irf.posterous.com> bp]

      The Euan P. McFarlane Award was established in 1987 to provide recognition for persons demonstrating initiative, resourcefulness and leadership in promoting conservation and enhancement of the environment in the insular Caribbean, with priority given to the smaller islands of the eastern Caribbean.
      Euan P. McFarlane, after whom this award was named, was until his death in 1983 actively involved in environmental causes in the Caribbean.  He was a former Treasurer and Board Member of the Caribbean Conservation Association, a Trustee of the Island Resources Foundation, and a founding member of the St. Croix Landmarks Society. Endowment funding for the award has been provided by the late Laurance S. Rockefeller (and subsequently with endorsement by the estate of Mr. Rockefeller), and the award program is administered by Island Resources Foundation, an independent, not-for-profit NGO dedicated to strengthening environmental planning for the development of small island states.
      Nominees for the McFarlane Award should be persons who have applied themselves to the preservation of the natural or built environment on one or more of the small islands of the Caribbean and whose career or avocation demonstrates an appreciation of and support for the advancement of environmental stewardship and balanced development in the Caribbean.


               1988                Mr. Yves Renard, St. Lucia
               1989                Mr. Mervin Williams, St. Lucia
               1990                Mr. Ronald Charles, Dominica
                                       Mr. Arlington James, Dominica
               1991                Ms. Alissandra Cummins, Barbados
               1992-93           Mr. Kevel Lindsay, Antigua and Barbuda
               1994-95           Mr. Jalaludin Ahmad Khan, Trinidad and Tobago
               1996-97           Mr. Reginald Murphy, Antigua and Barbuda
                                       Mr. Maurice Widdowson, St. Kitts
               1998                                Mr. Andrew Simpson, St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
      1999                 Mr. Ian Lambie, Trinidad and Tobago
      2000                 Mr. David Robinson, Nevis
      2001                 Mr. Charles Chavoudiga, Guadeloupe
      2002                Jacqueline and Larry Armony, St. Kitts
      2003                Dr. Brian Cooper, Antigua
      2004                Dr. Joth Singh, Barbados
      2005                Ms. Diana McCaulay, Jamaica
      2006                Mr. Raymond Walker (posthumously), British Virgin Islands
      2007                Dr. I. Earle A. Kirby (posthumously), St. Vincent and the Grenadines
      2008-09           Mr. Rueben J. Thompson, Sint Maarten
      2010                Mr. Albert Hugh “Errol” Harris, Dominica
      2011-12           Mr. Karim Hodge, Anguilla


      Any resident of a Caribbean island is eligible for nomination, although priority consideration will be given to residents of the smaller eastern Caribbean islands. Any interested individual or organization familiar with the nominee may make a nomination.  Self-nominations will not be accepted.


      Each selected McFarlane Award recipient will receive a US$1,000 cash award (there are no restrictions on the use of the award).


      Nominations should consist of a letter application from the nominator, not to exceed three single-spaced typed pages, stating the background, accomplishments, and merits of the person nominated.  The nominator must supply the names, addresses, telephone numbers and email addresses of at least 3 other persons familiar with the nominee's work and accomplishments, who could be contacted for additional information.  Attachments that support the nomination (e.g., press clippings, testimonials, copies of publications, letters of endorsement, etc.) may accompany the letter but are not required and cannot be returned.


      Nominations will be reviewed by an impartial committee of individuals familiar with the region, and the award will be based on an assessment of how well the nominee meets some or all of the following:

      ·         Nominee's role in increasing public awareness about conservation issues.
      ·         Nominee's achievements in helping to formulate public policy that bal­ances economic development objectives with sustainable development goals.
      ·         Nominee's accomplishments in strengthening public or private sector institutions and organizations concerned with conservation, preservation, or resource management issues.
      ·         Nominee's role in developing, promoting, or assisting programs or policies which conserve or protect key elements of the natural or built environment in the Caribbean.
      ·         Nominee's potential for future environmental leadership in the insular Caribbean. 

      Send Nominations To: 

      Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award 
      Attention: Bruce Potter

      Island Resources Foundation 
      1718 P Street Northwest, #T-4 
      Washington, DC 20036
      Fax: 202.232.0748        Email:irf@...

      Nominations must be postmarked by, 
      or emailed or faxed no later than 31st March 2013

      Island Resources Foundation
      40 Years of Planning for Small Island Conservation
      ---------Web Site------<http://www.irf.org/>------- Web Site
      -- -- -- -- -- -- Island Resources Foundation -- -- -- -- --
      1718 "P" St NW, # T-4 
      Washington, DC 20036 
      Phone: 202/265-9712      cell:  1-443-454-9044
      fax: 202/232-0748; E-mail: <bpotter@...
      -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
      Road Town, Tortola, BRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS
      Phone: 284/494-2723; 
      St. Thomas, USVI, call: 340/775-6225
       Promote Island Resources---Send Your $50 Membership to the DC Office

    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.