Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Re: Combat Example Clarification?

Expand Messages
  • prodezigner
    The way you do combat was how I imagined it in my mind also, so that ll be the way I do it!
    Message 1 of 7 , Jan 4, 2012
    • 0 Attachment
      The way you do combat was how I imagined it in my mind also, so that'll be the way I do it!


      --- In icons-rpg@yahoogroups.com, Soylent Green <gsoylent@...> wrote:
      >
      >
      > Off hand I'm not sure it is specified or that it matters. I deal with the damage first and generally only check for Slams and Stuns if the target is still conscious.
      >
      > With potential Kill and Stun results one can argue it might make senses to do the Strength test first because if it fails the target's Stamina reduced to zero anyway and Stamina doesn't go into negative numbers. Either way it doesn't seem to matter.
      >
      > Where things might get a little ambiguous is with Kill results. As I understand it, characters in Icons don't die from simple Stamina damage even if the source of the damage is a lethal - shooting or slashing - attack, Life Drain being perhaps the one notable exception. So if a character had 6 Stamina and was shot twice with Moderate hits each doing 4 points of damage, the character would be unconscious but still alive.
      >
      > To kill a target requires a Massive success on a lethal attack (and even then the target as to fail his Strength test to get it to the losing Strength points stage).
      >
      > So with a Kill result you always want to do the Strength test even if the target would be taken out by the Stamina damage alone.
      >
      > Anyway that's how I see it.
      >
      >
      >
      >
      > To: icons-rpg@yahoogroups.com
      > From: bford83@...
      > Date: Wed, 4 Jan 2012 01:39:04 +0000
      > Subject: [icons-rpg] Re: Combat Example Clarification?
      >
      >
      >
      >
      >
      >
      > Eh shoot, had another question that I forgot about earlier Slamming and Stunning and the likes of successful damage, do they take the damage before this gets rolled or after the Slamming and Stunning is figured out?
      >
      > --- In icons-rpg@yahoogroups.com, "prodezigner" <bford83@> wrote:
      > >
      > > I've seen several combat examples around the 'net, but still slightly
      > > confused, so I'll ask a few questions here.
      > > 1) A PC attacks a NPC (We'll say PRO vs PRO, don't feel like running
      > > numbers and mucking up the question). Does the NPC get an Evasion roll
      > > since it's a Reaction?
      > > I've read that someone house ruled that they do, but I've also read that
      > > NPCs don't get saving throws?
      > > 2) If a NPC attacks a PC, the PC rolls for both the attack and the
      > > Evasion (if capable, obvious if bound or hindered no Evasion roll is
      > > going to be allowed without some Determination involved)?
      > > I was really hoping for the ICONS: Team-Up! book and hoping for some
      > > examples before I started running, but I'm at the plate on Sunday (we
      > > round robin different game systems so we don't get bored and give the
      > > others time to prepare), and just need some clarification.
      > > Thanks!
      > >
      >
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.