Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

6252012 NCAA Division I Women’s V olleyball Championsh ip

Expand Messages
  • Volleyball ORG
    Nov 25, 2012

      Field of 64 released for 2012 tourney

      Last Updated - November 25, 2012 4:34 GMT

      Big Ten and Pac-12 Conferences lead way with seven teams each
      Brackets: Interactive Printable
      INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Committee announced Sunday the 64-team field for the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.
      The top-16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top-four seeds were No. 1 Pennsylvania State; No. 2 Stanford; No. 3 Texas; and No. 4 Nebraska.
      Per the established bracketing principles the top-16 seeds were provided the opportunity to host. In addition, first- and second-round conference matchups were avoided and team pairings were determined by geographical proximity.
      The Big Ten Conference and Pacific-12 Conference led all conferences with seven teams each. The West Coast Conference was next with six teams in the tournament. Two teams, Penn State and Stanford have earned bids to all 32 championships. Two teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Central Arkansas and East Tennessee State.
      In the 31-year history of the championship, 10 schools have been crowned champion, eight of which are in this year’s bracket, including defending champion UCLA.
      Past winners making the field are Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001, 04), Hawaii (1982, 83, 87), UCLA (1984, 90, 91, 2011), Nebraska (1995, 2000, and 06), USC (1981, 2002, 03), Penn State (1999, 2007, 08, 09 and 10), Texas (1988) and Washington (2005).
      First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites.

      Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at University Park, Pa, Nov. 29-30 at Austin, Texas
      No. 1 Penn State vs. Binghamton No. 3 Texas vs. Colgate
      Yale vs. Bowling Green North Carolina State vs. Texas A&M
      Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Lexington, Ky. Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Gainesville, Fla.
      Ohio State vs. Notre Dame Miami (Fla.) vs. College of Charleston
      East Tennessee State vs. No. 16 Kentucky Tulsa vs. No. 14 Florida
      Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Tallahassee, Fla. Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Lawrence, Kan.
      No. 9 Florida State vs. Hofstra No. 11 Kansas vs. Cleveland State
      Colorado State vs. Purdue Wichita State vs. Arkansas
      Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Minneapolis, Minn. Nov. 29-30 at Los Angeles, Calif.
      Creighton vs. Marquette St. Mary’s (Calif.) vs. San Diego State
      Liberty vs. No. 8 Minnesota Fairfield vs. No. 6 Southern California
      Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Eugene, Ore. Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Los Angeles, Calif.
      No. 5 Oregon vs. Northern Colorado No. 7 UCLA vs. LIU Brooklyn
      Pepperdine vs. Dayton Michigan State vs. San Diego
      Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Provo, Utah Nov. 29-30 at Louisville, Ky.
      Oklahoma vs. Arizona State Tennessee vs. Michigan
      New Mexico State vs. No. 12 BYU Belmont vs. No. 10 Louisville
      Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Seattle, Wash. Nov. 29-30 at Ames, Iowa
      No. 13 Washington vs. Central Arkansas No. 15 Iowa State vs. IPFW
      Santa Clara vs. Hawaii California vs. North Carolina
      Nov. 29-30 at Lincoln, Neb. Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Stanford, Calif.
      Kansas State vs. UNI Western Kentucky vs. Loyola Marymount
      UMES vs. No. 4 Nebraska Jackson State vs. No. 2 Stanford

      Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play Dec. 7 and 8. The pre-determined regional sites are Berkeley, Calif.; West Lafayette, Ind.; Omaha, Neb.; and Austin, Texas. All regional semifinal games will be shown on ESPN3. Regional final games will air on ESPNU.
      The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Louisville and the Louisville Sports Commission at the KFC Yum! Center in Louisville, Ky., on December 13 and 15. Both national semifinal games as well as the championship game will be broadcast by ESPN2.