Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

3448Angley's Cup TT Team championship 2013- Manoshanti triumphs

Expand Messages
  • Sandeep Heble
    Jul 22, 2013
      Angley's Cup TT Team championship 2013- Hotel Manoshanti triumphs

      Hotel Manoshanti sponsored Panjim TT Club team registered a
      sensational 3-2 win over Regal Electrotech to emerge champions of the
      Angley's Cup Table Tennis Team Championship event 2013, held at the
      gymkhana hall premises on Sunday. The prestigious championship, in
      it's 40th year in running, witnessed edge of the seat excitement with
      fortunes fluctuating every minute and the match going down to the

      P Adarsh representing Regal gave his team a 1-0 lead with a facile
      11-7, 11-2, 11-8 win over Amit Naik. Manoshanti won the next two games
      to make it 2-1, with Diljeet Velingkar beating a tenacious Myron
      Pereira 12-10, 13-15, 11-7, 11-4 and former state champion Noel
      Noronha displaying his class and mastery with a 11-6, 11-3, 11-9 win
      over Noel Estibeiro. The fourth game was fought between Goa's top seed
      P Adarsh and second seed Diljeet Velingkar and saw some exciting
      moments and great rallies. P Adarsh prevailed over his opponent with a
      hard fought 8-11, 11-3, 11-9, 11-7 win to level the scores at 2-2.

      With the match delicately poised, Myron Pereira took a 2 sets to 1
      lead and looked all set to take his team to its third title in
      succession, but Amit Naik came back strongly to win the next two sets
      and the game, thereby clinching the team championship title for the
      Manoshanti team. He won 11-8, 11-13, 9-11, 11-6, 11-6. Siddhant Parekh
      and Gary Freitas were the other two players who represented the
      winning team, with Ajit Ghantker as the Team Mentor and Arun Naik the
      Coach. Winners and Runners up prizes and trophies were awarded to
      Manoshanti and Regal Electrotech. BPS Sports Club, Margao and Parekh
      Brothers were awarded semi Finalist Prizes.

      Prizes were distributed by Chief Guest Vero Nunes, Goa Table Tennis
      Association President; in the presence of Panjim Gymkhana Vice
      President Gaurish Dhond, Jt. Secretary Sunil Naik, Treasurer Suresh
      Karapurkar and member Sanjay Pednekar. Mr. Kishore Angley and Mr.
      Atish Angley of Angley's Sports graced the occasion. Mr. Suresh
      Karapurkar, Treasurer of Panjim Gymkhana proposed the vote of thanks.

      Earlier, Hotel Manoshanti beat BPS Sports Club 3-1 and Regal
      Electrotech beat Parekh Brothers 3-0 to seal their place in the

      Semi Finals Results:

      Hotel Manoshanti beat BPS Sports Club 3-1
      Noel Noronha lost to Agnelo Naik 10-12, 9-11, 11-8, 11-5, 3-11;
      Diljeet Velingkar beat Tejas Shevde 11-8, 11-9, 7-11, 11-7;
      Amit Naik beat Yash Naik 12-10, 10-12, 11-8, 10-12, 11-5;
      Diljeet Velingkar beat Agnelo Naik 12-10, 5-11, 11-1, 12-10

      Regal Electrotech beat Parekh Brothers 3-0
      P Adarsh beat Arun Naik 11-3, 11-8, 11-4,
      Noel Estibeiro beat Selvyn Godinho 11-7, 11-8, 11-8;
      Myron Pereira beat Ajay Naik 11-6, 11-8, 11-6