Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

1861 The Civil War Begins

Expand Messages
  • Jewelle Baker
    Hello Group...... The below Today in History gleaned for your remembrances! Thank you Sally!!!! 1861 : THE CIVIL WAR BEGINS The bloodiest four years in
    Message 1 of 1 , Apr 12, 2011
      Hello Group......
      The below "Today in History" gleaned for your remembrances!
      Thank you Sally!!!!

      "1861 : THE CIVIL WAR BEGINS

      The bloodiest four years in American history begin when Confederate shore
      batteries under General P.G.T. Beauregard open fire on Union-held Fort
      Sumter in South Carolina's Charleston Bay. During the next 34 hours, 50
      Confederate guns and mortars launched more than 4,000 rounds at the poorly
      supplied fort. On April 13, U.S. Major Robert Anderson surrendered the fort.

      Two days later, U.S. President Abraham Lincoln issued a proclamation calling

      for 75,000 volunteer soldiers to quell the Southern "insurrection."

      As early as 1858, the ongoing conflict between North and South over the
      issue of slavery had led Southern leadership to discuss a unified separation

      from the United States. By 1860, the majority of the slave states were
      publicly threatening secession if the Republicans, the anti-slavery party,
      won the presidency. Following Republican Abraham Lincoln's victory over the
      divided Democratic Party in November 1860, South Carolina immediately
      initiated secession proceedings. On December 20, the South Carolina
      legislature passed the "Ordinance of Secession," which declared that "the
      Union now subsisting between South Carolina and other states, under the name

      of the United States of America, is hereby dissolved." After the declaration

      South Carolina set about seizing forts, arsenals, and other strategic
      locations within the state. Within six weeks, five more Southern
      states--Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, and Louisiana--had followed
      South Carolina's lead.

      In February 1861, delegates from those states convened to establish a
      unified government. Jefferson Davis of Mississippi was subsequently elected
      the first president of the Confederate States of America. When Abraham
      Lincoln was inaugurated on March 4, 1861, a total of seven states (Texas had

      joined the pack) had seceded from the Union, and federal troops held only
      Fort Sumter in South Carolina, Fort Pickens off the Florida coast, and a
      handful of minor outposts in the South. Four years after the Confederate
      attack on Fort Sumter, the Confederacy was defeated at the total cost of
      620000 Union and Confederate soldiers dead. "

      Researching: (Main Capitalized)
      BAKER, Barrow, BEAMAN, BLOUNT, Bonner, Bours, Braxton, CANNON, Carraway,
      COX, Chester, Dail, ELLIS, Faircloth, Gardner, HANCOCK, HARDEE, Hardison,
      Harris, Harper, Harrington, Heath, Hollyman (all sp), JACKSON, Johnson,
      Jones, Letchworth, Manning, McGLOHON (all sp), McGOWAN, McKeel, Mills,
      Mitchell, Mumford, PHILLIPS, Price, Shaw, Smith, Sumrell, Stocks, Stokes,
      Tyson, Vandiford, Walls, Walston, Weeks, Wilkerson, WINGATE, Wetherington,
      Worthington, plus ++++

      GenealogyPITT Co NC Friends In Research
      (Serving all Eastern/Coastal NC Counties)

      eMail scan by NAV & certified Virus Free

      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.