Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

CFP: Artificial Intelligence & Cognitive Science Conference, Limerick, Ireland

Expand Messages
  • michael_o_neill
    A I C S 0 2 13th Irish Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science Towards Bio-Inspired Computing 12-13 September, 2002 University of
    Message 1 of 1 , Mar 13, 2002
    • 0 Attachment
      A I C S ' 0 2
      13th Irish Conference on
      Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science

      "Towards Bio-Inspired Computing"

      12-13 September, 2002

      University of Limerick, Ireland

      Sponsored by QAD

      Keynote Speakers

      David Goldberg Dario Floreano
      University of Illinois Swiss Federal Institute
      at Urbana-Champaign of Technology

      Call for Papers

      The Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science Conference AICS'02
      will be hosted by the Department of Computer Science and Information
      Systems, University of Limerick from Thursday 12th to Friday 13th
      September 2002.

      The conference has taken place annually since 1988 and provides a
      forum for the exchange of ideas and the presentation of results
      relating to work conducted both in Ireland and worldwide.

      The Program Committee invites submissions of papers that report
      original research, both basic and applied, within Artificial
      Intelligence and Cognitive Science, broadly construed. Areas of
      interest include but are not restricted to: case-based reasoning,
      cognitive modeling, constraint processing, data mining, evolutionary
      computation, intelligent agents, intelligent information
      retrieval, knowledge representation & reasoning, learning, natural
      language processing, neural networks, perception and planning,
      robotics, and scheduling.

      Paper Submission

      Submissions in English comprising up to eight pages of A4 text (3000
      words approx.) must be prepared in RTF or LaTeX using an electronic
      template available from the AICS'02 website and sent by email to
      aics02@... by the due deadline (see below).

      Those making submissions from North America are requested to set the
      page size of their word processors to A4 when working on their papers
      to ensure that they are the right length. The number of pages is
      crucial while the number of words is not.

      All submissions will be acknowledged.

      Accepted papers will be published in full in the printed proceedings
      available at the conference. They may also be published subsequently
      in book form.

      The editors of the proceedings reserve the right to alter papers which
      do not conform to the template or which are more than eight A4 pages
      in length.

      Important Dates

      Fri 12 April 02 Deadline for Submissions
      Fri 31 May 02 Acceptance Notification
      Fri 28 June 02 Final Versions of Papers Due

      Contact Information

      General enquiries about the conference may be directed to:

      Bianca Pluk
      AICS'02 Administrator
      Department of Computer Science
      and Information Systems
      University of Limerick
      Limerick, Ireland

      +353 61 202730 Tel
      +353 61 202734 Fax

      The Venue

      The University of Limerick is situated on rolling parkland beside the
      historic River Shannon. The tranquil red brick campus is complemented
      by many lakes,fountains and sculptures.

      The conference will be based in the new Computer Science Building,
      home of the Computer Science and Information Systems Department, an
      airy and imposing structure incorporating lecture theatres, meeting
      rooms, computer laboratories and research centres, all equipped to the
      highest standards.

      There are many sights worth visiting in the Shannon region which is
      considered the most beautiful in Ireland: The Aran Islands, Bunratty
      Castle, the thousand foot high Cliffs of Moher, Rock of Cashel, King
      John's Castle and Aillwee Caves are all close by. In addition there
      Loch Derg, teeming with wildlife on its many islands and surrounded
      blue-green hills and lofty mountains.

      The University is easily reached - Shannon International Airport is
      only 12 Miles (20 Km) away, with regular direct flights to London, New
      York, and many other cities.

      Local Organising Committee

      Richard Sutcliffe, General Chair
      Malachy Eaton, Local Arrangements Chair
      Niall Griffith, Programme Co-Chair
      Michael O'Neill, Publication Chair
      Conor Ryan, Programme Co-Chair
      Bianca Pluk, Conference Administrator

      Programme Committee

      Liam Bannon, University of Limerick
      David Bell, University of Ulster at Jordanstown
      Anthony Brabazon, University College Dublin
      Derek Bridge, University College Cork
      Jim Buckley, University of Limerick
      Ruth Byrne, The University of Dublin, Trinity College
      Arthur Cater, University College Dublin
      J.J. Collins, University of Limerick
      Ernesto Costa, University of Coimbra
      Fintan Costello, Dublin City University
      Roddy Cowie, Queen's University Belfast
      Norman Creaney, University of Ulster at Coleraine
      Fred Cummins, University College Dublin
      Pa/draig Cunningham, The University of Dublin, Trinity College
      John Dunnion, University College Dublin
      Jim Eales, University of Limerick
      Malachy Eaton, University of Limerick
      Jose/ Luis Fernandez, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
      Dario Floreano, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
      Antony Galton, University of Exeter
      Paul Gibson, National University of Ireland, Maynooth
      David Goldberg, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
      Josephine Griffith, National University of Ireland, Galway
      Niall Griffith, University of Limerick
      Patrick Healy, University of Limerick
      Michael Herdy, INPRO
      Gareth Jones, University of Exeter
      Mark Keane, University College Dublin
      Maarten Keijzer, Vrije University, Amsterdam
      Nick Kushmerick, University College Dublin
      Michael Luck, University of Southampton
      Annette McElligott, University of Limerick
      Paul Mc Kevitt, University of Ulster at Magee
      David McSherry, University of Ulster at Coleraine
      Mike McTear, University of Ulster at Jordanstown
      Juan Julia/n Merelo, University of Granada
      Liam Murray, University of Limerick
      Fionn Murtagh, Queen's University Belfast
      Ajit Narayanan, University of Exeter
      Diarmuid O'Donoghue, National University of Ireland, Maynooth
      Greg O'Hare, University College Dublin
      Donncha O/ Maidi/n, University of Limerick
      Michael O'Neill, University of Limerick
      Colm O'Riordan, National University of Ireland, Galway
      Riccardo Poli, University of Essex
      Ronan Reilly, University College Dublin
      Conor Ryan, University of Limerick
      Reinhard Schaeler, University of Limerick
      Jon Shapiro, University of Manchester
      Noel Sharkey, University of Sheffield
      Barry Smyth, University College Dublin
      Humphrey Sorensen, University College Cork
      Richard Sutcliffe, University of Limerick
      Adrian Trenaman, Iona Technologies
      Josef van Genabith, Dublin City University
      Carl Vogel, The University of Dublin, Trinity College
      Andy Way, Dublin City University
      Adam Winstanley, National University of Ireland, Maynooth
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.