Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.


Expand Messages
  • Stefano Cagnoni
    CALL FOR PAPERS EVOIASP2004 Sixth European Workshop on Evolutionary Computation in Image Analysis and Signal Processing Coimbra, Portugal, 5 April 2004
    Message 1 of 1 , Jul 16, 2003


      Sixth European Workshop on Evolutionary Computation in Image Analysis
      and Signal Processing

      Coimbra, Portugal, 5 April 2004

      Evolutionary algorithms have been shown to be tools which
      can be used effectively in the development of systems (software or
      hardware) for image analysis and signal processing in complex domains
      of high industrial and social relevance.

      EvoIASP is the first European event specifically dedicated to the
      applications of evolutionary computation (EC) to image analysis and
      signal processing (IASP) and gives European and non-European
      researchers in those fields, as well as people from industry, an
      opportunity to present their latest research and to discuss current
      developments and applications, besides fostering closer future
      interaction between members of the three scientific communities.

      The previous editions of the Workshop were held in Göaut;teborg,
      Sweden (1999), Edinburgh, UK (2000), Como, Italy (2001), Kinsale,
      Ireland (2002), and Colchester, UK (2003).

      The workshop is sponsored by EvoNet, the Network of Excellence in
      Evolutionary Computing, and is one of the activities of EvoIASP, the
      EvoNet working group on Evolutionary Computation for Image Analysis
      and Signal Processing. It will be part of EvoWorkshops2004 and will be
      held in conjunction with EuroGP2004, the European Conference on
      Genetic Programming, and EvoCOP2004, the 4th European Conference on
      Evolutionary Computation in Combinatorial Optimization.

      Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

      applications of evolutionary computation to real-life IASP problems,
      evolvable vision and signal processing hardware,
      evolutionary pattern recognition,
      hybrid architectures for machine vision and signal processing
      including evolutionary components,
      theoretical developments,
      comparisons between different evolutionary techniques and between
      evolutionary and non-evolutionary techniques in IASP applications,
      time series analysis by means of EC techniques.


      Send your manuscript, at most 10 A4 pages long, in Springer LNCS
      format (instructions downloadable from
      http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/instruct/typeinst.pdf) to the
      programme chair, Stefano Cagnoni, in gzipped PostScript or pdf
      format by email no later than November 14, 2003. The papers will be
      peer reviewed by at least two members of the program committee.
      Authors will be notified via email on the results of the review by
      December 19, 2003.

      The authors of accepted papers will have to improve their paper on
      the basis of the reviewers' comments and will be asked to send a
      camera ready version of their manuscripts, along with text sources
      and pictures, by January 16, 2003. The accepted papers will appear
      in the workshop proceedings, published in Springer LNCS Series,
      which will be available at the workshop.

      Important Dates:

      Submission deadline: 14 November 2003
      Notification of acceptance: 19 December 2003
      Camera ready papers due: 16 January 2004
      Workshop: 5 April 2004

      Web Address:



      Program Chair
      Stefano Cagnoni
      University of Parma, Italy

      Local Chair
      Ernesto Costa
      University of Coimbra, Portugal

      EvoWorkshops2004 Co-Chairs
      Güaut;unther Raidl, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

      Stefano Cagnoni
      University of Parma, Italy

      PROGRAMME COMMITTEE (to be confirmed)

      Giovanni Adorni (Italy)
      Lucia Ballerini (Sweden)
      Wolfgang Banzhaf (Germany)
      Dario Bianchi (Italy)
      Alberto Broggi (Italy)
      Stefano Cagnoni (Italy)
      Ela Claridge (UK)
      Marc Ebner (Germany)
      Terry Fogarty (UK)
      Daniel Howard (UK)
      Mario Koeppen (Germany)
      Evelyne Lutton (France)
      Peter Nordin (Sweden)
      Gustavo Olague (Mexico)
      Riccardo Poli (UK)
      Conor Ryan (Ireland)
      Jim Smith (UK)
      Giovanni Squillero (Italy)
      Ankur M. Teredesai (USA)
      Andy Tyrrell (UK)
      Hans-Michael Voigt (Germany)
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.