Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Clip: new Lisa Germano cd

Expand Messages
  • Carl Z.
    Lisa Germano Preps Young God Debut Rob Kleckner reports: Singer/songerwriter Lisa Germano has
    Message 1 of 1 , Jun 13, 2006

      Lisa Germano Preps Young God Debut

      Rob Kleckner reports:
      Singer/songerwriter Lisa Germano has been around for a long time. She
      played strings for John Mellencamp (!) in the late 80s and into the
      90s, and toured and recorded with the Indigo Girls (!!), David Bowie,
      Simple Minds, Iggy Pop, and Sheryl Crow (!!!). She also put out
      several albums on both Capitol Records and 4AD, as well as
      collaborated with Giant Sand in the side project OP8. But this is
      (relatively) common knowledge. What's not so well-known, however, is
      that Lisa Germano can suck you into her dreams. Just ask
      ex-Swan/current Angel of Light Michael Gira.

      "She seems to play violin, piano/keyboards, and guitar with equal
      authority," Gira claims. "As well as producing her own records with
      great imaginative effect-- the result is seductive and truly magical.
      No one sounds like her. You get the feeling you're walking through her
      dreams as you listen. The intensity of feeling in her singing is a
      little frightening sometimes-- it's like she's singing very close to
      your ear, leading you through her world. It's a place I very much
      enjoy visiting, and I hope you will too."

      Does that sound a little creepy to anyone else? At any rate, Gira was
      impressed enough with Germano that his Young God label will release
      her new album, In the Maybe World, on July 18. This is Germano's first
      since 2003's Lullaby for Liquid Pig.


      01 The Day
      02 Too Much Space
      03 Moon in Hell
      04 Golden Cities
      05 Into Oblivion
      06 In the Land of Fairies
      07 Wire
      08 In the Maybe World
      09 Red Thread
      10 Seed
      11 Except for the Ghosts
      12 After Monday

      Germano appears on RockPaperScissors, the third album from
      composer/producer Michael Brook (Brian Eno, the Pogues), out July 18
      on bigHelium/Canadian Rational. She sings a song called "Want".

      * Lisa Germano: http://www.lisagermano.com/
      * Young God: http://www.younggodrecords.com/
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.