Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

IAQTC Asthma Webinar

Expand Messages
  • Mansel Adelbert Nelson
    Webinar – Asthma in Tribal Communities May 16, 2013, Thursday (Please share this announcement with others, particularly School Administrators and School
    Message 1 of 1 , May 1, 2013
    Webinar – Asthma in Tribal Communities

    May 16, 2013, Thursday

    (Please share this announcement with others, particularly School Administrators and School Board Members)

    Reserve your Webinar seat now at nau.edu/iaqtc

    Title:  Asthma in Tribal Communities
    Date: May 16, 2013, Thursday
    Time: 1:00 pm Arizona Time (noon AKDT, 1:00 PDT, 2:00 pm MDT, 3:00 pm CDT, 4:00 pm EDT)
    Duration: 1.5 hours

    After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the Webinar.

    Many tribal communities have high rates of asthma.  Asthma is a unique medical condition that compels both medical treatment and environmental mitigation.  Ongoing research will help us gain a better understanding of asthma and how to prevent.  Meanwhile, we can reduce asthma triggers in our communities, resulting in reduced medical costs and enhanced quality of life.

    Mansel Nelson, Program Coordinator, Indoor Air Quality in Tribal Communities (IAQTC)
    - Personal experiences with asthma
    - Asthma – Basic Background
    - Research opportunity in schools
    Dr. Camlesh Nirmul, Chief of Pediatrics, Phoenix Indian Medical Center
    - Medical management and prevalence
    Gillian Mittelstaedt, Director, Tribal Healthy Homes Northwest
    - Environmental Triggers
    Barbara Allen, University Extension Agent, Housing and Environmental Health Program
    - Native AIR program materials
    Angela Porter, Nurse, Nez Perce Medical Clinic
    - Tribal Clinics Managing Asthma
    Nicole Paredes, Open Airways in Schools, American Lung Association
    - Open Airways program for schools
    Cristina Gonzalez-Maddux, Research Specialist, IAQTC
    - Website update
    - Resources for asthma

    Questions:  Contact Mansel A Nelson at mansel.nelson@... or 928 523 1275


    Funding for IAQTC is provided by the Indoor Environments Division of the USEPA.

    Mansel Nelson
    Senior Program Coordinator
    Tribal Environmental Education Outreach
    928-523-1275
    mansel.nelson@...


Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.