Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Non-Beautiful Consciousness

Expand Messages
  • Htoo Naing
    Dear Dhamma Friends, There are 30 asobhana cittas or non-beautiful consciousness. 12 akusala cittas or 12 unwholesome consciousness are also non-beautiful
    Message 1 of 1 , Apr 5, 2005
      Dear Dhamma Friends,

      There are 30 asobhana cittas or non-beautiful consciousness. 12 akusala cittas or 12 unwholesome consciousness are also non-beautiful consciousness. They are 8 lobha mula citta or attachment-rooted consciousness, 2 dosa mula citta or aversion-rooted consciousness and 2 moha mula cittas or ignorance-rooted consciousness.

      Other non-beautiful cittas are 18 ahetuka cittas or 18 root-less consciousness. Even though they are not akusala cittas they are called non-beautiful consciousness because they do not carry any hetu or root as in beautiful consciousness like dvihetuka sobhana cittas or double-rooted consciousness and tihetuka sobhana cittas or triple-rooted consciousness.

      Hetu or root-dhamma are 1.alobha or non-attachment, 2.adosa or non-aversion, which is also known as metta, 3.amoha or non-ignorance, which is also known as panna or wisdom, 4.lobha or attchment, 5.dosa or aversion, and 6.moha or ignorance. When all of these 6 root dhammas do not arise in cittas they are called rootless consciousness or ahetuka citta. As they do not have beautiful cetasikas like alobha, adosa, and amoha they are called asobhana citta or non-beautiful consciousness.
      Again these 18 ahetuka cittas or rootless consciousness can be divided into three separate groups. They are 7 akusala vipakacittas or 7 unwholesome-resultant consciousness, 8 kusalavipakacittas or 8 wholesome-resultant consciousness and 3 ahetuka kiriya cittas or 3 rootless-functional consciousness.

      Ahetuka means rootless that is absence of all 6 roots. Vipaka means the results. Kiriya means ' just performance and there is no kammic force left due to that performance'.

      There are 7 ahetuka akusala vipakacittas. They are_

      1. upekkha sahagatam cakkhuvinnana citta
      2. upekkha sahagatam sotavinnana citta
      3. upekkha sagagatam ghanavinnana citta
      4. upekkha sahagatam jivhavinnana citta
      5. dukkha sahagatam kayavinnana citta
      6. upekkha sahagatam sampaticchana citta
      7. upekkha sahagatam santirana citta

      Cakkhu means 'related to eye'. Vinnana is made of 'vi' and 'nana'. Vi means distinctinct, particular, special. Nana means knowledge. So vinnana are special knowledge. When a citta arise at eye while seeing a colour, that citta particularly knows the colour. No other citta can know the colour. So it is a form of vinnana citta.

      Sota means 'related to ear', ghana means 'related to nose', jivha means 'related to tongue', kaya means 'related to physical body'. Dukkha means ' feeling of hard to bear' or bodily pain or discomfort .

      Sampaticchana is made up of sam which means 'well' and paticchana which means ' receiving'. So sampaticchana citta is well-receiving consciousness that receives the object transferred by the former citta which arose just before its arising.

      Santirana is made up of san which means ' well ' and tirana which means 'appropriately investigating'. So santirana citta is a consciousness that looks into the object of sampaticchana to work out what it is.

      May you be free from suffering.

      With Unlimited Metta,

      Htoo Naing

      Yahoo! Messenger
      Show us what our next emoticon should look like. Join the fun.

      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.