Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

103282014 Munsey Award

Expand Messages
  • Mike Chomko
    Nov 24, 2013
      Every year, PulpFest recognizes the efforts of those who work to keep the pulps alive for this and future generations through its Munsey Award. Named after Frank A. Munsey, the man who published the first pulp magazine, this annual award recognizes an individual who has given of himself or herself for the betterment of the pulp community, be it through disseminating knowledge about the pulps or through publishing or other efforts to preserve and to foster interest in the pulp magazines we all love and enjoy. Nominations for the 2014 Munsey are now being accepted. All members of the pulp community, whether they plan to attend PulpFest 2014 or not, are welcome to nominate a deserving person for this year’s award.

      You can also nominate someone for the Rusty Hevelin Service Award. Initiated in 2012, this award is designed to recognize those persons who have worked long and hard for the pulp community with little thought for individual recognition. It is meant to reward especially good works, and is thus reserved for only those individuals who are most deserving.

      If you have someone in mind that you feel worthy to receive either of these prestigious awards, please let us know. All members of the pulp community, excepting past winners of the Munsey, Hevelin, or Lamont Awards, are eligible. Please send the person’s name and a brief paragraph describing why you feel that person should be honored to Mike Chomko, 2217 W. Fairview Street, Allentown, PA 18104-6542 or to mike@.... The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2014. The recipient of the Munsey and/or Rusty Hevelin Service Award will be selected by a panel of judges consisting of recognized experts in the pulp field. The award will be presented on August 9th, during the convention’s evening programming.

      For additional details, please visit http://www.pulpfest.com/awards/