Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

23 January

Expand Messages
  • ambrós
    Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
    Message 1 of 14 , Jan 21, 2001
    • 0 Attachment
      Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

      =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
      * St. Colman of Lismore
      * St. Maimbod
      =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


      St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
      --------------------------------------------------
      Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
      abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
      reached its peak (Benedictines).

      The Monastery of Lismore

      As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
      Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
      celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
      St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
      from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
      forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
      southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
      dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
      hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
      clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
      their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
      Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
      venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
      eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
      yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
      beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
      site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.
      Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
      he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
      to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
      Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
      which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
      ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
      four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
      doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
      interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

      But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
      St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
      was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
      annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
      life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
      particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
      in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
      territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
      missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
      was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
      Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
      forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
      become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
      upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
      Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
      that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
      have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
      venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
      as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
      cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
      its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
      successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
      parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
      No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
      Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
      school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
      Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
      was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
      said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
      Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
      close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
      most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
      princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
      in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
      Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
      buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
      monument.

      Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
      The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
      Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
      Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
      artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
      an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
      ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
      niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
      http://homepage.tinet.ie/~cbslismore/lismore.html
      The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
      with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
      castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
      bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
      book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
      times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
      of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
      1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
      Saint's Lives (paraphrased) may be read here
      http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm




      St. Maimbod, Martyr
      --------------------------------------------------
      Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
      from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of
      many saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern
      Italy and Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and
      unsuccessfully pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure,
      the nobleman gave Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for
      him. He was praying at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
      miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
      he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to
      occur at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the
      blind Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
      delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
      During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
      instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
      destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
      Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

      Sources:
      ======

      Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints, 2nd edition,
      revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John. New York: Penguin Books.

      Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966). The Book of
      Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell. Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine
      Abbey, Ramsgate. (1947).

      Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
      Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

      D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul, Minnesota:
      Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably the most useful
      book to choose to own on the Irish saints. The author provides a great
      deal of historical context in which to place the lives of the saints.]

      Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe. New York:
      Funk & Wagnalls.

      O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

      O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

      For All the Saints:
      http://users.erols.com/saintpat/ss/ss-index.htm

      Celtic Orthodox Christianity Home Page
      http://www.nireland.com/orthodox/celtic.htm

      These Lives are archived at:
      http://www.egroups.com/group/celt-saints/
      *****************************************
    • ambrós
      Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
      Message 2 of 14 , Jan 21, 2002
      • 0 Attachment
        Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

        =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
        * St. Colman of Lismore
        * St. Maimbod
        =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


        St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
        --------------------------------------------------
        Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
        abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
        reached its peak (Benedictines).

        The Monastery of Lismore

        As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
        Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
        celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
        St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
        from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
        forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
        southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
        dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
        hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
        clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
        their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
        Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
        venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
        eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
        yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
        beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
        site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

        Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
        he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
        to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
        Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
        which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
        ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
        four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
        doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
        interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

        The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
        Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
        Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
        (hb).

        But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
        St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
        was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
        annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
        life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
        particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
        in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
        territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
        missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
        was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
        Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
        forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
        become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
        upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
        Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
        that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
        have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
        venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
        as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
        cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
        its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
        successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
        parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
        No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
        Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
        school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
        Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
        was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
        said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
        Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
        close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
        most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
        princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
        in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
        Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
        buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
        monument.

        Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
        The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
        Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
        Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
        artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
        an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
        ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
        niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
        http://homepage.tinet.ie/~cbslismore/lismore.html

        The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
        with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
        castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
        bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
        book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
        times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
        of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
        1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
        Saint's Lives (paraphrased) may be read here
        http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


        St. Maimbod, Martyr
        --------------------------------------------------
        Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
        from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
        saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
        Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
        pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
        Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
        at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
        miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
        he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
        at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
        Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
        delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
        During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
        instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
        destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
        Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

        Sources:
        ======

        Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
        2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
        New York: Penguin Books.

        Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
        The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

        Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
        Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

        D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
        Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
        the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
        The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
        to place the lives of the saints.]

        Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
        New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

        O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

        O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

        For All the Saints:
        http://users.erols.com/saintpat/ss/ss-index.htm

        Celtic Orthodox Christianity Home Page
        http://www.nireland.com/orthodox/celtic.htm

        These Lives are archived at:
        http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
        *****************************************
      • ambrós
        Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
        Message 3 of 14 , Jan 21, 2003
        • 0 Attachment
          Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

          =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
          * St. Colman of Lismore
          * St. Maimbod
          =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


          St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
          --------------------------------------------------
          Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
          abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
          reached its peak (Benedictines).

          The Monastery of Lismore

          As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
          Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
          celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
          St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
          from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
          forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
          southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
          dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
          hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
          clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
          their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
          Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
          venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
          eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
          yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
          beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
          site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

          Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
          he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
          to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
          Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
          which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
          ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
          four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
          doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
          interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

          The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
          Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
          Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
          (hb).

          But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
          St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
          was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
          annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
          life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
          particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
          in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
          territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
          missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
          was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
          Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
          forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
          become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
          upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
          Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
          that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
          have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
          venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
          as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
          cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
          its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
          successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
          parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
          No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
          Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
          school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
          Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
          was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
          said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
          Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
          close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
          most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
          princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
          in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
          Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
          buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
          monument.

          Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
          The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
          Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
          Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
          artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
          an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
          ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
          niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
          http://www.nyu.edu/classes/overbey/shrines/shrines-Thumb.00001.html

          The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
          with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
          castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
          bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
          book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
          times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
          of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
          1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
          Saint's Lives (paraphrased) may be read here
          http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


          St. Maimbod, Martyr
          --------------------------------------------------
          Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
          from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
          saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
          Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
          pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
          Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
          at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
          miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
          he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
          at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
          Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
          delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
          During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
          instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
          destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
          Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

          Sources:
          ======

          Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
          2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
          New York: Penguin Books.

          Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
          The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

          Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
          Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

          D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
          Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
          the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
          The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
          to place the lives of the saints.]

          Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
          New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

          O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

          O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

          For All the Saints:
          http://users.erols.com/saintpat/ss/ss-index.htm

          Celtic Orthodox Christianity Home Page
          http://www.orthodoxireland.com/celtic.htm

          These Lives are archived at:
          http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
          *****************************************
        • emrys@globe.net.nz
          Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
          Message 4 of 14 , Jan 21, 2004
          • 0 Attachment
            Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

            =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
            * St. Colman of Lismore
            * St. Maimbod
            =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


            St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
            --------------------------------------------------
            Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
            abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
            reached its peak (Benedictines).

            The Monastery of Lismore

            As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
            Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
            celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
            St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
            from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
            forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
            southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
            dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
            hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
            clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
            their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
            Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
            venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
            eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
            yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
            beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
            site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

            Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
            he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
            to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
            Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
            which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
            ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
            four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
            doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
            interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

            The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
            Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
            Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
            (hb).

            But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
            St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
            was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
            annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
            life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
            particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
            in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
            territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
            missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
            was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
            Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
            forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
            become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
            upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
            Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
            that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
            have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
            venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
            as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
            cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
            its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
            successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
            parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
            No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
            Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
            school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
            Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
            was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
            said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
            Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
            close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
            most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
            princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
            in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
            Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
            buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
            monument.

            Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
            The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
            Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
            Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
            artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
            an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
            ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
            niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
            http://www.nyu.edu/classes/overbey/shrines/shrines-Thumb.00001.html

            The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
            with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
            castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
            bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
            book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
            times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
            of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
            1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
            Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
            http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


            St. Maimbod, Martyr
            --------------------------------------------------
            Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
            from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
            saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
            Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
            pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
            Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
            at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
            miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
            he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
            at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
            Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
            delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
            During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
            instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
            destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
            Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

            Sources:
            ======

            Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
            2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
            New York: Penguin Books.

            Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
            The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

            Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
            Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

            D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
            Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
            the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
            The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
            to place the lives of the saints.]

            Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
            New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

            O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

            O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

            For All the Saints:
            http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/ss-index.htm

            Orthodox Ireland Saints
            http://www.orthodoxireland.com/saints/

            An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
            http://www.orthodoxengland.btinternet.co.uk/saintsa.htm

            These Lives are archived at:
            http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
            *****************************************
          • emrys@globe.net.nz
            Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
            Message 5 of 14 , Jan 21, 2005
            • 0 Attachment
              Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

              =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
              * St. Colman of Lismore
              * St. Maimbod
              =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


              St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
              --------------------------------------------------
              Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
              abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
              reached its peak (Benedictines).

              The Monastery of Lismore

              As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
              Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
              celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
              St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
              from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
              forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
              southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
              dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
              hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
              clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
              their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
              Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
              venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
              eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
              yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
              beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
              site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

              Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
              he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
              to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
              Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
              which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
              ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
              four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
              doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
              interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

              The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
              Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
              Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
              (hb).

              But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
              St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
              was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
              annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
              life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
              particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
              in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
              territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
              missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
              was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
              Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
              forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
              become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
              upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
              Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
              that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
              have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
              venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
              as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
              cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
              its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
              successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
              parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
              No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
              Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
              school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
              Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
              was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
              said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
              Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
              close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
              most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
              princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
              in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
              Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
              buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
              monument.

              Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
              The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
              Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
              Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
              artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
              an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
              ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
              niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
              http://www.nyu.edu/classes/overbey/shrines/shrines-Thumb.00001.html

              The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
              with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
              castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
              bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
              book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
              times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
              of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
              1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
              Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
              http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


              St. Maimbod, Martyr
              --------------------------------------------------
              Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
              from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
              saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
              Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
              pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
              Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
              at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
              miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
              he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
              at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
              Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
              delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
              During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
              instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
              destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
              Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

              Sources:
              ======

              Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
              2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
              New York: Penguin Books.

              Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
              The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

              Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
              Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

              D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
              Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
              the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
              The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
              to place the lives of the saints.]

              Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
              New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

              O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

              O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

              For All the Saints:
              http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/ss-index.htm

              An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
              http://www.orthodoxengland.btinternet.co.uk/saintsa.htm

              These Lives are archived at:
              http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
              ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
            • emrys@globe.net.nz
              Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
              Message 6 of 14 , Jan 22, 2006
              • 0 Attachment
                Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

                =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
                * St. Colman of Lismore
                * St. Maimbod
                =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


                St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
                --------------------------------------------------
                Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
                abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
                reached its peak (Benedictines).

                The Monastery of Lismore

                As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
                Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
                celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
                St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
                from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
                forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
                southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
                dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
                hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
                clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
                their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
                Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
                venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
                eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
                yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
                beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
                site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

                Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
                he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
                to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
                Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
                which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
                ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
                four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
                doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
                interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

                The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
                Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
                Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
                (hb).

                But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
                St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
                was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
                annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
                life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
                particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
                in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
                territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
                missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
                was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
                Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
                forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
                become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
                upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
                Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
                that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
                have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
                venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
                as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
                cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
                its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
                successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
                parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
                No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
                Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
                school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
                Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
                was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
                said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
                Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
                close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
                most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
                princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
                in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
                Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
                buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
                monument.

                Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
                The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
                Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
                Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
                artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
                an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
                ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
                niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
                http://www.nyu.edu/classes/overbey/shrines/shrines-Thumb.00001.html

                The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
                with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
                castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
                bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
                book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
                times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
                of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
                1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
                Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
                http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


                St. Maimbod, Martyr
                --------------------------------------------------
                Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
                from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
                saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
                Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
                pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
                Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
                at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
                miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
                he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
                at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
                Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
                delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
                During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
                instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
                destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
                Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

                Sources:
                ======

                Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
                2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
                New York: Penguin Books.

                Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
                The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

                Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
                Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

                D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
                Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
                the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
                The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
                to place the lives of the saints.]

                Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
                New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

                O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

                O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

                For All the Saints:
                http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/ss-index.htm

                An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
                http://www.orthodoxengland.btinternet.co.uk/saintsa.htm

                These Lives are archived at:
                http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
                ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
              • emrys@globe.net.nz
                Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
                Message 7 of 14 , Jan 22, 2007
                • 0 Attachment
                  Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

                  =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
                  * St. Colman of Lismore
                  * St. Maimbod
                  =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


                  St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
                  --------------------------------------------------
                  Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
                  abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
                  reached its peak (Benedictines).

                  The Monastery of Lismore

                  As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
                  Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
                  celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
                  St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
                  from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
                  forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
                  southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
                  dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
                  hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
                  clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
                  their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
                  Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
                  venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
                  eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
                  yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
                  beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
                  site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

                  Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
                  he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
                  to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
                  Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
                  which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
                  ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
                  four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
                  doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
                  interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

                  The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
                  Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
                  Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
                  (hb).

                  But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
                  St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
                  was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
                  annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
                  life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
                  particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
                  in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
                  territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
                  missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
                  was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
                  Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
                  forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
                  become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
                  upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
                  Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
                  that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
                  have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
                  venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
                  as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
                  cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
                  its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
                  successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
                  parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
                  No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
                  Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
                  school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
                  Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
                  was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
                  said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
                  Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
                  close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
                  most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
                  princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
                  in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
                  Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
                  buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
                  monument.

                  Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
                  The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
                  Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
                  Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
                  artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
                  an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
                  ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
                  niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
                  http://www.nyu.edu/classes/overbey/shrines/shrines-Thumb.00001.html

                  The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
                  with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
                  castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
                  bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
                  book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
                  times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
                  of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
                  1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
                  Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
                  http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


                  St. Maimbod, Martyr
                  --------------------------------------------------
                  Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
                  from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
                  saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
                  Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
                  pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
                  Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
                  at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
                  miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
                  he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
                  at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
                  Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
                  delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
                  During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
                  instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
                  destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
                  Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

                  Sources:
                  ======

                  Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
                  2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
                  New York: Penguin Books.

                  Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
                  The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

                  Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
                  Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

                  D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
                  Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
                  the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
                  The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
                  to place the lives of the saints.]

                  Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
                  New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

                  O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

                  O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

                  For All the Saints:
                  http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/ss-index.htm

                  An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
                  http://www.orthodoxengland.btinternet.co.uk/saintsa.htm

                  These Lives are archived at:
                  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
                  ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
                • emrys@globe.net.nz
                  Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
                  Message 8 of 14 , Jan 21, 2008
                  • 0 Attachment
                    Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

                    =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
                    * St. Colman of Lismore
                    * St. Maimbod
                    =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


                    St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
                    --------------------------------------------------
                    Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
                    abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
                    reached its peak (Benedictines).

                    The Monastery of Lismore

                    As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
                    Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
                    celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
                    St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
                    from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
                    forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
                    southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
                    dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
                    hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
                    clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
                    their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
                    Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
                    venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
                    eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
                    yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
                    beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
                    site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

                    Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
                    he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
                    to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
                    Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
                    which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
                    ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
                    four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
                    doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
                    interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

                    The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
                    Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
                    Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
                    (hb).

                    But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
                    St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
                    was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
                    annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
                    life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
                    particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
                    in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
                    territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
                    missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
                    was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
                    Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
                    forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
                    become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
                    upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
                    Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
                    that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
                    have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
                    venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
                    as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
                    cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
                    its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
                    successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
                    parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
                    No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
                    Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
                    school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
                    Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
                    was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
                    said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
                    Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
                    close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
                    most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
                    princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
                    in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
                    Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
                    buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
                    monument.

                    Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
                    The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
                    Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
                    Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
                    artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
                    an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
                    ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
                    niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
                    http://www.discoverlismore.com/images/lismorecrozier.jpg


                    The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
                    with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
                    castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
                    bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
                    book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
                    times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
                    of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
                    1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
                    Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
                    http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


                    St. Maimbod, Martyr
                    --------------------------------------------------
                    Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
                    from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
                    saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
                    Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
                    pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
                    Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
                    at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
                    miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
                    he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
                    at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
                    Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
                    delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
                    During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
                    instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
                    destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
                    Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

                    Sources:
                    ======

                    Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
                    2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
                    New York: Penguin Books.

                    Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
                    The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

                    Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
                    Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

                    D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
                    Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
                    the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
                    The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
                    to place the lives of the saints.]

                    Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
                    New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

                    O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

                    O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

                    For All the Saints:
                    http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/ss-index.htm

                    An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
                    http://www.orthodoxengland.btinternet.co.uk/saintsa.htm

                    These Lives are archived at:
                    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
                    ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
                  • emrys@globe.net.nz
                    Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
                    Message 9 of 14 , Jan 22, 2009
                    • 0 Attachment
                      Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

                      =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
                      * St. Colman of Lismore
                      * St. Maimbod
                      =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


                      St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
                      --------------------------------------------------
                      Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
                      abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
                      reached its peak (Benedictines).

                      The Monastery of Lismore

                      As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
                      Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
                      celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
                      St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
                      from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
                      forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
                      southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
                      dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
                      hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
                      clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
                      their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
                      Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
                      venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
                      eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
                      yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
                      beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
                      site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

                      Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
                      he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
                      to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
                      Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
                      which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
                      ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
                      four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
                      doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
                      interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

                      The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
                      Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
                      Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
                      (hb).

                      But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
                      St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
                      was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
                      annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
                      life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
                      particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
                      in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
                      territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
                      missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
                      was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
                      Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
                      forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
                      become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
                      upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
                      Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
                      that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
                      have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
                      venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
                      as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
                      cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
                      its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
                      successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
                      parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
                      No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
                      Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
                      school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
                      Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
                      was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
                      said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
                      Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
                      close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
                      most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
                      princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
                      in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
                      Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
                      buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
                      monument.

                      Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
                      The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
                      Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
                      Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
                      artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
                      an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
                      ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
                      niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
                      http://www.discoverlismore.com/images/lismorecrozier.jpg


                      The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
                      with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
                      castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
                      bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
                      book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
                      times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
                      of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
                      1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
                      Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
                      http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


                      St. Maimbod, Martyr
                      --------------------------------------------------
                      Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
                      from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
                      saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
                      Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
                      pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
                      Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
                      at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
                      miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
                      he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
                      at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
                      Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
                      delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
                      During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
                      instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
                      destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
                      Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

                      Sources:
                      ======

                      Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
                      2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
                      New York: Penguin Books.

                      Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
                      The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

                      Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
                      Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

                      D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
                      Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
                      the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
                      The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
                      to place the lives of the saints.]

                      Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
                      New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

                      O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

                      O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

                      For All the Saints:
                      http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/ss-index.htm

                      An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
                      http://www.orthodoxengland.btinternet.co.uk/saintsa.htm

                      These Lives are archived at:
                      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
                      ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
                    • emrys@globe.net.nz
                      Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
                      Message 10 of 14 , Jan 22, 2010
                      • 0 Attachment
                        Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

                        =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
                        * St. Colman of Lismore
                        * St. Maimbod
                        =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


                        St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
                        --------------------------------------------------
                        Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
                        abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
                        reached its peak (Benedictines).

                        The Monastery of Lismore

                        As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
                        Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
                        celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
                        St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
                        from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
                        forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
                        southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
                        dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
                        hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
                        clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
                        their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
                        Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
                        venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
                        eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
                        yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
                        beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
                        site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

                        Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
                        he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
                        to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
                        Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
                        which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
                        ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
                        four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
                        doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
                        interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

                        The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
                        Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
                        Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
                        (hb).

                        But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
                        St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
                        was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
                        annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
                        life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
                        particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
                        in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
                        territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
                        missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
                        was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
                        Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
                        forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
                        become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
                        upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
                        Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
                        that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
                        have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
                        venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
                        as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
                        cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
                        its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
                        successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
                        parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
                        No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
                        Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
                        school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
                        Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
                        was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
                        said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
                        Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
                        close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
                        most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
                        princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
                        in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
                        Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
                        buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
                        monument.

                        Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
                        The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
                        Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
                        Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
                        artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
                        an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
                        ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
                        niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
                        http://www.discoverlismore.com/images/lismorecrozier.jpg


                        The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
                        with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
                        castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
                        bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
                        book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
                        times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
                        of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
                        1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
                        Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
                        http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


                        St. Maimbod, Martyr
                        --------------------------------------------------
                        Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
                        from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
                        saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
                        Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
                        pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
                        Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
                        at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
                        miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
                        he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
                        at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
                        Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
                        delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
                        During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
                        instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
                        destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
                        Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

                        Sources:
                        ======

                        Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
                        2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
                        New York: Penguin Books.

                        Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
                        The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

                        Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
                        Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

                        D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
                        Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
                        the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
                        The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
                        to place the lives of the saints.]

                        Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
                        New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

                        O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

                        O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

                        For All the Saints:
                        http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/ss-index.htm

                        An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
                        http://www.orthodoxengland.btinternet.co.uk/saintsa.htm

                        These Lives are archived at:
                        http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
                        ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
                      • ambrois@xtra.co.nz
                        Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
                        Message 11 of 14 , Jan 22, 2011
                        • 0 Attachment
                          Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

                          =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
                          * St. Colman of Lismore
                          * St. Maimbod
                          =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


                          St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
                          --------------------------------------------------
                          Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
                          abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
                          reached its peak (Benedictines).

                          The Monastery of Lismore

                          As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
                          Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
                          celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
                          St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
                          from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
                          forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
                          southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
                          dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
                          hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
                          clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
                          their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
                          Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
                          venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
                          eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
                          yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
                          beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
                          site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

                          Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
                          he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
                          to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
                          Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
                          which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
                          ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
                          four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
                          doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
                          interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

                          The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
                          Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
                          Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
                          (hb).

                          But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
                          St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
                          was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
                          annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
                          life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
                          particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
                          in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
                          territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
                          missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
                          was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
                          Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
                          forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
                          become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
                          upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
                          Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
                          that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
                          have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
                          venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
                          as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
                          cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
                          its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
                          successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
                          parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
                          No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
                          Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
                          school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
                          Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
                          was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
                          said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
                          Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
                          close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
                          most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
                          princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
                          in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
                          Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
                          buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
                          monument.

                          Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
                          The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
                          Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
                          Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
                          artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
                          an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
                          ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
                          niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
                          http://www.discoverlismore.com/images/lismorecrozier.jpg


                          The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
                          with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
                          castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
                          bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
                          book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
                          times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
                          of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
                          1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
                          Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
                          http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


                          St. Maimbod, Martyr
                          --------------------------------------------------
                          Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
                          from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
                          saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
                          Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
                          pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
                          Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
                          at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
                          miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
                          he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
                          at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
                          Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
                          delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
                          During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
                          instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
                          destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
                          Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

                          Sources:
                          ======

                          Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
                          2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
                          New York: Penguin Books.

                          Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
                          The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

                          Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
                          Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

                          D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
                          Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
                          the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
                          The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
                          to place the lives of the saints.]

                          Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
                          New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

                          O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

                          O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

                          For All the Saints:
                          http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/ss-index.htm

                          An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
                          http://www.orthodoxengland.btinternet.co.uk/saintsa.htm

                          These Lives are archived at:
                          http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
                          ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
                        • ambrois@xtra.co.nz
                          Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
                          Message 12 of 14 , Jan 24, 2012
                          • 0 Attachment
                            Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

                            =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
                            * St. Colman of Lismore
                            * St. Maimbod
                            =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


                            St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
                            --------------------------------------------------
                            Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
                            abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
                            reached its peak (Benedictines).

                            The Monastery of Lismore

                            As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
                            Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
                            celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
                            St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
                            from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
                            forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
                            southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
                            dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
                            hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
                            clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
                            their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
                            Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
                            venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
                            eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
                            yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
                            beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
                            site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

                            Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
                            he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
                            to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
                            Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
                            which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
                            ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
                            four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
                            doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
                            interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

                            The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
                            Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
                            Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
                            (hb).

                            But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
                            St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
                            was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
                            annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
                            life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
                            particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
                            in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
                            territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
                            missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
                            was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
                            Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
                            forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
                            become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
                            upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
                            Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
                            that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
                            have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
                            venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
                            as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
                            cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
                            its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
                            successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
                            parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
                            No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
                            Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
                            school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
                            Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
                            was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
                            said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
                            Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
                            close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
                            most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
                            princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
                            in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
                            Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
                            buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
                            monument.

                            Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
                            The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
                            Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
                            Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
                            artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
                            an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
                            ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
                            niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
                            http://www.discoverlismore.com/images/lismorecrozier.jpg


                            The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
                            with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
                            castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
                            bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
                            book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
                            times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
                            of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
                            1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
                            Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
                            http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


                            St. Maimbod, Martyr
                            --------------------------------------------------
                            Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
                            from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
                            saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
                            Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
                            pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
                            Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
                            at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
                            miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
                            he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
                            at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
                            Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
                            delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
                            During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
                            instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
                            destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
                            Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

                            Sources:
                            ======

                            Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
                            2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
                            New York: Penguin Books.

                            Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
                            The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

                            Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
                            Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

                            D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
                            Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
                            the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
                            The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
                            to place the lives of the saints.]

                            Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
                            New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

                            O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

                            O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

                            For All the Saints:
                            http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/ss-index.htm

                            An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
                            http://www.orthodoxengland.btinternet.co.uk/saintsa.htm

                            These Lives are archived at:
                            http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
                            ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
                          • ambrois@xtra.co.nz
                            Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
                            Message 13 of 14 , Jan 22, 2013
                            • 0 Attachment
                              Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

                              =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
                              * St. Colman of Lismore
                              * St. Maimbod
                              =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


                              St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
                              --------------------------------------------------
                              Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
                              abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
                              reached its peak (Benedictines).

                              The Monastery of Lismore

                              As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
                              Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
                              celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
                              St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
                              from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
                              forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
                              southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
                              dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
                              hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
                              clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
                              their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
                              Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
                              venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
                              eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
                              yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
                              beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
                              site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

                              Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
                              he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
                              to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
                              Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
                              which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
                              ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
                              four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
                              doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
                              interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

                              The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
                              Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
                              Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
                              (hb).

                              But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
                              St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
                              was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
                              annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
                              life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
                              particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
                              in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
                              territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
                              missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
                              was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
                              Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
                              forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
                              become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
                              upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
                              Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
                              that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
                              have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
                              venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
                              as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
                              cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
                              its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
                              successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
                              parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
                              No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
                              Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
                              school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
                              Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
                              was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
                              said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
                              Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
                              close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
                              most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
                              princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
                              in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
                              Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
                              buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
                              monument.

                              Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
                              The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
                              Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
                              Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
                              artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
                              an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
                              ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
                              niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
                              http://www.discoverlismore.com/images/lismorecrozier.jpg


                              The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
                              with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
                              castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
                              bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
                              book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
                              times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
                              of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
                              1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
                              Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
                              http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


                              St. Maimbod, Martyr
                              --------------------------------------------------
                              Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
                              from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
                              saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
                              Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
                              pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
                              Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
                              at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
                              miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
                              he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
                              at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
                              Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
                              delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
                              During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
                              instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
                              destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
                              Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

                              Sources:
                              ======

                              Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
                              2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
                              New York: Penguin Books.

                              Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
                              The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

                              Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
                              Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

                              D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
                              Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
                              the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
                              The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
                              to place the lives of the saints.]

                              Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
                              New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

                              O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

                              O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.

                              For All the Saints:
                              http://www.saintpatrickdc.org/ss/saint_a.shtml

                              An Alphabetical Index of the Saints of the West
                              http://orthodoxengland.org.uk/saintsa.htm

                              These Lives are archived at:
                              http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
                              ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
                            • ambrois@xtra.co.nz
                              Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= * St. Colman of Lismore * St. Maimbod
                              Message 14 of 14 , Jan 23, 2014
                              • 0 Attachment
                                Celtic and Old English Saints 23 January

                                =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
                                * St. Colman of Lismore
                                * St. Maimbod
                                =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


                                St. Colman of Lismore, Bishop
                                --------------------------------------------------
                                Died c. 702. Saint Colman succeeded Saint Hierlug (Zailug) as
                                abbot-bishop of Lismore in 698. During his rule the fame of Lismore
                                reached its peak (Benedictines).

                                The Monastery of Lismore

                                As the School of Armagh in the North of Ireland, and that of
                                Clonmacnoise in the centre, so the School of Lismore was the most
                                celebrated in the South of Ireland. It was founded in the year 635 by
                                St. Carthach the Younger, in a most picturesque site, steeply rising
                                from the southern bank of the Blackwater. Its founder had spent nearly
                                forty years of his monastic life in the monastery of Rahan on the
                                southern borders of ancient Meath, in what is now King's County. He
                                dearly loved that monastery which he had founded and which he fondly
                                hoped would be the place of his resurrection; but the men of Meath -
                                clerics and chieftains - grew jealous of the great monastery founded in
                                their territory by a stranger from Munster, and they persuaded Prince
                                Blathmac, son of Aedh Slaine, of the southern Hy Mall, to expel the
                                venerable old man from the monastic home which he loved so well. The
                                eviction is described by the Irish annalists as most unjust and cruel,
                                yet, under God's guidance, it led to the foundation of Lismore on the
                                beautiful margin of what was then called Avonmore, "the great river", a
                                site granted to St. Carthach by the prince of the Desii of Waterford.

                                Lismore was founded in 635; and the founder survived only two years, for
                                he died in 637, but Providence blessed his work, and his monastery grew
                                to be the greatest centre of learning and piety in all the South of
                                Erin. The "Rule of St. Carthach" is the most notable literary monument
                                which the founder left behind him. It is fortunately still extant in the
                                ancient Gaelic verse in which it was written. It consists of 185
                                four-lined stanzas, which have been translated by O'Curry - who has no
                                doubt of its authenticity - and is beyond doubt one of the most
                                interesting and important documents of the early Irish Church.

                                The Rule of Saint Carthage can be found in "The Celtic Monk: Rules &
                                Writings of Early Irish Monks" Uinseann O'Maidin OCR, pub. Cistercian
                                Studies Series Number 162, 1996. ISBN: 0879076623 (pb) and 0879075627
                                (hb).

                                But Lismore produced a still more famous saint and scholar, the great
                                St. Cathaldus of Tarentum. His Irish name was Cathal, and it appears he
                                was born at a place called Rathan, not far from Lismore. Our Irish
                                annals tell us nothing of St. Cathaldus, because he went abroad early in
                                life, but the brothers Morini of his adopted home give us many
                                particulars. They tell us he was a native of Hibernia - born at Rathan
                                in Momonia - that he studied at Lismore, and became bishop of his native
                                territory of Rathan, but that afterwards, inspired by the love of
                                missionary enterprise, he made his way to Jerusalem, and on his return
                                was, with his companions, wrecked at Tarentum - the "beautiful
                                Tarentum" - at the heel of Italy. Its pleasure-loving inhabitants,
                                forgetting the Gospel preached to them by St. Peter and St. Mark, had
                                become practically pagans when Cathaldus and his companions were cast
                                upon their shores. Seeing the city given up to vice and sensuality, the
                                Irish prelate preached with great fervour, and wrought many miracles, so
                                that the Tarentines gave up their sinful ways, and from that day to this
                                have recognised the Irish Cathaldus as their patron saint, and greatly
                                venerate his tomb, which was found intact in the cathedral as far back
                                as the year 1110, with his name "Cathaldus Rachan" inscribed upon a
                                cross therein. Another distinguished scholar of Lismore, and probably
                                its second abbot, was St. Cuanna, most likely the half-brother and
                                successor of the founder. He was born at Kilcoonagh, or Killcooney, a
                                parish near Headford in the County Galway which takes its name from him.
                                No doubt he went to Lismore on account of his close connection with St.
                                Carthach, and for the same reason was chosen to succeed him in the
                                school of Lismore. Colgan thought that the ancient but now lost "Book of
                                Cuanach", cited in the "Annals of Ulster", but not later than A.D. 628,
                                was the work of this St. Cuanna of Kilcooney and Lismore. It is also
                                said that Aldfrid, King of Northumbria, spent some time at the school of
                                Lismore, for he visited most of the famous schools of Erin towards the
                                close of the seventh century, and at that time Lismore was one of the
                                most celebrated. It was a place of pilgrimage also, and many Irish
                                princes gave up the sceptre and returned to Lismore to end their lives
                                in prayer and penance. There, too, by his own desire, was interred St.
                                Celsus of Armagh, who died at Ardpatrick, but directed that he should be
                                buried in Lismore - but we have sought in vain for any trace of his
                                monument.

                                Two interesting memorials of Lismore are fortunately still preserved.
                                The first is the crosier of Lismore, found accidentally in Lismore
                                Castle in the year 1814. The inscription tells us that it was made for
                                Niall Mac Mic Aeducan, Bishop of Lismore, 1090-1113, by Neclan the
                                artist. This refers to the making of the case or shrine, which enclosed
                                an old oak stick, the original crosier of the founder. Most of the
                                ornaments are richly gilt, interspersed with others of silver and
                                niello, and bosses of coloured enamels. You can see the crosier here:
                                http://www.discoverlismore.com/images/lismorecrozier.jpg


                                The second is the "Book of Lismore" found in the castle at the same time
                                with the crosier, enclosed in a wooden box in a built-up doorway. The
                                castle was built as long ago as 1185 by Prince John. Afterwards the
                                bishops of Lismore came to live there, and no doubt both crosier and
                                book belonged to the bishops and were hidden for security in troublesome
                                times. The Book of Lismore contains a very valuable series of the lives
                                of our Irish saints, written in the finest medieval Irish. It was in
                                1890 admirably translated into English by Dr. Whitley Stokes. One of the
                                Saints' Lives (paraphrased), Saint Fanahan of Brigown, may be read here
                                http://incolor.inetnebr.com/jskean/Fanahan.htm


                                St. Maimbod, Martyr
                                --------------------------------------------------
                                Died January 23, c. 880. Saint Maimbod was a martyr who went to Alsace
                                from Ireland as a missionary. Maimbod was a pilgrim to the tombs of many
                                saints, as he wandered he spread the faith throughout northern Italy and
                                Gaul. In Burgundy a nobleman gave him hospitality and unsuccessfully
                                pressed him to settle there. Upon Maimbod's departure, the nobleman gave
                                Maimbod a pair of gloves as a reminder to pray for him. He was praying
                                at the church of Domnipetra near Katlenbrunn eight
                                miles from Besancon, when he was set upon by some robbers who believed
                                he had money because he was wearing gloves. When miracles began to occur
                                at his tomb in Domnipetra, Count Aszo of Monteliard asked the blind
                                Bishop Berengarius for a gift of the saint's relics. Berengarius
                                delegated the translation ceremony to his coadjutor, Bishop Stephen.
                                During the rite, Berengarius miraculously received his sight and
                                instituted a feast in honour of the saint. Maimbod's relics were
                                destroyed in the 16th century (Attwater2, Benedictines, Coulson, D'Arcy,
                                Encyclopaedia, Fitzpatrick, O'Hanlon, O'Kelly).

                                Sources:
                                ======

                                Attwater, D. (1983). The Penguin Dictionary of Saints,
                                2nd edition, revised and updated by Catherine Rachel John.
                                New York: Penguin Books.

                                Benedictine Monks of St. Augustine Abbey, Ramsgate. (1966).
                                The Book of Saints, NY, Thomas Y. Crowell.

                                Coulson, J. (ed.). (1960). The Saints: A Concise Biographical
                                Dictionary. New York: Hawthorn Books.

                                D'Arcy, M. R. (1974). The Saints of Ireland. Saint Paul,
                                Minnesota: Irish American Cultural Institute. [This is probably
                                the most useful book to choose to own on the Irish saints.
                                The author provides a great deal of historical context in which
                                to place the lives of the saints.]

                                Fitzpatrick, B. (1927). Ireland and the Foundations of Europe.
                                New York: Funk & Wagnalls.

                                O'Hanlon, J. (1875). Lives of Irish Saints, 10 vol. Dublin.

                                O'Kelly, J. J. (1952). Ireland's Spiritual Empire. Dublin: M. H. Gill.


                                These Lives are archived at:
                                http://groups.yahoo.com/group/celt-saints
                                ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
                              Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.