Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

NCAA Selection Announcement - 2005 Men's Volleyball Championship

Expand Messages
  • volleyball ORG
    Selection Announcement May 1, 2005 Pepperdine, Penn State, UCLA and Ohio State Advance to NCAA Championship UCLA will host the men s volleyball national
    Message 1 of 1 , May 1, 2005
      Selection Announcement

      May 1, 2005

      Pepperdine, Penn State, UCLA and Ohio State Advance to NCAA

      UCLA will host the men's volleyball national championship for the 13th

      Top-ranked Pepperdine, No.2 Penn State, 4th-ranked UCLA, and
      10th-ranked Ohio State will battle for the 2005 NCAA National
      Collegiate Men's Volleyball Championship May 5-7 at UCLA's
      Pauley Pavilion.

      Pepperdine (23-2), which earned the top seed in the tournament, meets
      fourth-seeded Ohio State (27-4) in Thursday's second semifinal at 9
      p.m. Second-seeded Penn State (30-3) meets third-seeded
      UCLA (25-5) in the first semifinal, scheduled for 7 p.m.
      The first semifinal match will be carried live on ESPN2 and ESPNU. The
      second semifinal will be broadcast live on ESPNU. It also will be shown
      tape-delayed on May 6 on ESPN2 at 10 a.m. All times
      are Pacific.

      Pepperdine, Penn State and Ohio State each earned an automatic berth by
      winning their respective conference tournaments on Saturday night. The
      Waves defeated No. 3 Long Beach State 3-0 in
      Malibu to secure the final automatic berth. Penn State beat No. 14
      George Mason 3-1 at University Park, PA. Ohio State was the first team
      to earn a trip to Westwood, by outlasting unranked IPFW 3-1 at
      Chicago, IL.

      Pepperdine will be making its 13th appearance in the NCAA Championship,
      and its third in the last four years. The Waves last won the title in
      1992 when they defeated Stanford 3-0 at Munci, IN. In 2002, Pepperdine
      lost in four games in the finals to Hawaii, and in 2004, the Waves lost
      in the semifinals to Lewis University.

      Penn State has appeared in the NCAA Championship 20 times, including
      five straight years. The Nittany Lions last won the national
      championship in 1994 when they defeated UCLA 3-2 in Ft. Wayne,
      IN. In the last five years, Penn State has lost in the semifinals.

      UCLA was selected as the at-large participant and seeded third. The
      Bruins will be making a record 24th NCAA Championship appearance and
      their first since 2001. The Bruins have won a record 18 NCAA men's
      volleyball championships, and last won the title in 2000 when they
      defeated Ohio State at Ft. Wayne, IN. UCLA is undefeated on its home
      court (24-0) in the current four-team championship format.

      Ohio State will be making its 14th appearance in the NCAA Championship
      and its first since 2001. The Buckeyes last advanced to the
      championship match in 2000 before losing 3-0 to UCLA at Ft.
      Wayne, IN.

      MORE AT --> http://Volleyball.ORG/

      Volleyball World Wide
      Since 1994, the oldest, and largest, internet site dedicated to the
      sport of volleyball
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.