Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

259phases of the Absolute Truth are expressed as Brahman, Paramatma, and Bhagavan (Chapter 2 Text 1)

Expand Messages
  • prateek sanwal
    Jun 3, 2011
    • 0 Attachment
      Hare Krishna Friends,
      Chapter 2: Contents of the Gita Summarized



      Bhagavad-Gita Sanskrit Shaloka [Chapter: 2 - Verse 2]

                                          sri-bhagavan uvaca
                                       kutas tva kasmalam idam
                                        visame samupasthitam
                                      anarya-justam asvargyam
                                           akirti-karam arjuna


      sri-bhagavan uvaca--the Supreme Personality of Godhead said; kutah--wherefrom; tva--unto you; kasmalam--dirtiness; idam--this lamentation; visame--in this hour of crisis; samupasthitam--arrived; anarya--person who do not know the value of life; justam--practiced by; asvargyam--that which does not lead to higher planets; akirti--infamy; karam--the cause of; arjuna--O Arjuna.


      The Supreme Person [Bhagavan] said: My dear Arjuna, how have these impurities come upon you? They are not at all befitting a man who knows
      the progressive values of life. They lead not to higher planets, but to infamy.


      Krsna and the Supreme Personality of Godhead are identical. Therefore Lord Krsna is referred to as "Bhagavan" throughout the Gita. Bhagavan is the ultimate in Absolute Truth. Absolute Truth is realized in three phases of understanding, namely Brahman, or the impersonal allpervasive spirit; Paramatma, or the localized aspect of the Supreme within the heart of all living entities; and Bhagavan, or the Supreme Personality of Godhead, Lord Krsna. In the Srimad-Bhagavatam (1.2.11) this conception of the Absolute Truth is explained thus:

                                            vadanti tat tattva-vidas
                                      tattvam yaj jnanam advayam
                                             brahmeti paramatmeti
                                              bhagavan iti sabdyate

      "The Absolute Truth is realized in three phases of understanding by the knower of the Absolute Truth, and all of them are identical. Such phases of the Absolute Truth are expressed as Brahman, Paramatma, and Bhagavan."

                                                                                                                        ..........to be continued.
       Source:Bhagavad Gita As It Is by HDG. A.C. BhaktiVedanta Swami Srila Prabhupada