Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

508NCAA Division I Volleyball Championships - Texas, Nebraska, Illinois, Iowa State take top seeds

Expand Messages
  • Volleyball ORG
    Nov 27, 2011

      Texas leads championship field

      Longhorns, Nebraska, Illinois, Iowa State take top seeds

      • Printable Bracket : http://www.ncaa.com/sites/default/files/external/gametool/brackets/volleyball-women_d1_2011.pdf
      • Interactive Bracket : http://www.ncaa.com/interactive-bracket/volleyball-women/d1/2011

      INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Committee announced the 64-team field for the 2011 NCAA Division I Championship. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.
      The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were No. 1 Texas, No. 2 Nebraska, No. 3 Illinois and No. 4 Iowa State.
      Per the established bracketing principles, the top 16 seeds were provided the opportunity to host. In addition, first- and second-round conference matchups were avoided and team pairings were determined by geographical proximity.

      The Big Ten led all conferences with eight teams selected. The Big 12 and Pac-12 each have seven teams in the tournament. Two teams, Penn State and Stanford, have now earned bids to all 31 championships. Five teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Central Michigan, Jackson State, Marquette, Maryland-Eastern Shore and Samford.
      In the 30-year history of the championship, 10 schools have been crowned champion, nine of which are in this year’s bracket, including four-time defending champion Penn State.
      Additional past winners making the field are Stanford (1992, '94, '96, '97, 2001, '04),  Hawaii (1982, '83, '87), Long Beach State (1989, '93, '98), UCLA (1984, '90, '91), Nebraska (1995, 2000, '06), Southern California (1981, 2002, '03), Penn State (1999, 2007, '08, '09 and '10), Texas (1988) and Washington (2005).

      First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites. Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play Dec. 9 and 10. The pre-determined regional sites will be in Gainesville, Fla.; Honolulu, Hawaii; Lexington, Ky.; and Minneapolis, Minn.  All regional semifinal games will be shown on ESPN3.com while regional final games will air on ESPNU.
      The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by UT-San Antonio and San Antonio Sports at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas, on Dec. 15 and 17. Both national semifinal games as well as the championship game will be telecast by ESPN2.

      Volleyball World Wide   http://Volleyball.ORG/