Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Re: [aprsisce] igate setup

Expand Messages
  • Tony Leonardi
    Hello again we ll I let it update and now I am back to no icon being reported. It s seems to be gating traffic but I am back to not transmitting a icon. I do
    Message 1 of 26 , Mar 1, 2012
    • 0 Attachment
      Hello again 
      we'll I let it update and now I am back to no icon being reported. 
      It's seems to be gating traffic but I am back to not transmitting a icon. 
      I do seem to be beaconing, the I gate is kd6bni-1
      Any help here would be appreciated. 

      Tony Leonardi

      Leonardi Automotive

      Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

      Amateur radio license 
      http://www.qrz.com/db/KD6HNI
      Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.

      On Feb 8, 2012, at 17:05, "Steve Daniels" <steve@...> wrote:

       

      No Problem at all, for me at least. There are a few on the group doing SAR, for various Sheriffs Depts etc. When you get into it more, APRSIS has functions that help with Radio Direction Finding, and coordinating search areas, but lets get you going first before you get to the advanced features. (and there are lots, and growing)

       

      Steve Daniels

      G6UIM

      Torbay Freecycle Moderator


      From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com ] On Behalf Of Tony Leonardi
      Sent: 09 February 2012 00:28
      To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
      Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup

       

       

      Wow thanks so much guys I really appreciate the help 

      I'll give it a go. 

      Tony Leonardi

       

      Leonardi Automotive

       

      Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

       

      FCC Amateur Radio License: KD6HNI (http://tinyurl.com/6rdbz4y)

       

      Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.


      On Feb 8, 2012, at 16:17, "Steve Daniels" <steve@...> wrote:

       

      I would agree with Lynn , I would recommend watching Julian’s excellent videos on the initial setup. There is also plenty of stuff in the wiki.

      If you don’t have a TNC or Radio with Built in TNC (Terminal Node Controller) then you will need a software based TNC such as AGWPE to interface your soundcard to APRSISCE/32

       

      Feel free to ask here for help if you get stuck

       

      Steve Daniels

      G6UIM

      Torbay Freecycle Moderator


      From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com ] On Behalf Of Lynn W Deffenbaugh (Mr)
      Sent: 08 February 2012 23:44
      To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
      Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup

       

       

      Watch Julian (G4ILO)'s introductory videos on the Wiki.  He even walks you through setting up your first RF port in the second video.

      http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/

      http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/initial-startup

      http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/port-configuration

      Lynn (D) - KJ4ERJ - Author of APRSISCE for Windows Mobile and Win32

      On 2/8/2012 6:37 PM, tony leonardi wrote:

      Ok,

      so Steve i believe you sent me that password, correct?

      and do i plug the radio audio in to the computer and then it can be setup and were?

      i really haven't done this or have any experience before so more rudimentary Instruction would be helpful.

      i searched this group and online and had no luck 

      Thanks so much

      Tony

       


      From: Greg Depew <goatherder_4891@...>
      To: "aprsisce@yahoogroups.com " <aprsisce@yahoogroups.com>
      Sent: Wednesday, February 8, 2012 3:30 PM
      Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup


      Don't forget you also need a pass code to tx to the IS.

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

      -----Original Message-----
      From: Steve Daniels <steve@...>
      Date: Wed, 8 Feb 2012 23:15:08
      To: <aprsisce@yahoogroups.com>
      Subject: RE: [aprsisce] igate setup

       





      It will igate automatically for RX only make sure you have IS RF unticked in the APRS-IS port settings, If you plan to digipeat also some editing of the config XML file is required
      http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/doc:digipeating
      http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/doc:editing-xml-configuration
       
       

      Steve Daniels
      G6UIM
      Torbay Freecycle Moderator


      ----------------

      From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com] On Behalf Of kd6hni
      Sent: 08 February 2012 23:07
      To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
      Subject: [aprsisce] igate setup
       
       



      Hello there are no igates in my area and i need help setting one up a rx only.
      any help would be appreciated.
      Thanks
      Tony
      kd6hni




      ------------------------------------

      Yahoo! Groups Links

      <*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
          http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aprsisce/

      <*> Your email settings:
          Individual Email | Traditional

      <*> To change settings online go to:
          http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aprsisce/join
          (Yahoo! ID required)

      <*> To change settings via email:
          aprsisce-digest@yahoogroups.com
          aprsisce-fullfeatured@yahoogroups.com

      <*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
          aprsisce-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

      <*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
          http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/



       

      =

      =
    • Lynn W Deffenbaugh (Mr)
      Do you have a valid APRS-IS password entered? And do you have the .EXE installed in a directory NOT under one of Windows protected directories, like NOT
      Message 2 of 26 , Mar 1, 2012
      • 0 Attachment
        Do you have a valid APRS-IS password entered?  And do you have the .EXE installed in a directory NOT under one of Windows' "protected" directories, like NOT under Program Files?

        What version of WIndows and such are you running?

        Lynn (D) - KJ4ERJ - Author of APRSISCE for Windows Mobile and Win32

        On 3/1/2012 3:06 AM, Tony Leonardi wrote:
        Hello again 
        we'll I let it update and now I am back to no icon being reported. 
        It's seems to be gating traffic but I am back to not transmitting a icon. 
        I do seem to be beaconing, the I gate is kd6bni-1
        Any help here would be appreciated. 

        Tony Leonardi

        Leonardi Automotive

        Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

        Amateur radio license 
        http://www.qrz.com/db/KD6HNI
        Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.

        On Feb 8, 2012, at 17:05, "Steve Daniels" <steve@...> wrote:

         

        No Problem at all, for me at least. There are a few on the group doing SAR, for various Sheriffs Depts etc. When you get into it more, APRSIS has functions that help with Radio Direction Finding, and coordinating search areas, but lets get you going first before you get to the advanced features. (and there are lots, and growing)

         

        Steve Daniels

        G6UIM

        Torbay Freecycle Moderator


        From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com ] On Behalf Of Tony Leonardi
        Sent: 09 February 2012 00:28
        To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
        Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup

         

         

        Wow thanks so much guys I really appreciate the help 

        I'll give it a go. 

        Tony Leonardi

         

        Leonardi Automotive

         

        Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

         

        FCC Amateur Radio License: KD6HNI (http://tinyurl.com/6rdbz4y)

         

        Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.


        On Feb 8, 2012, at 16:17, "Steve Daniels" <steve@...> wrote:

         

        I would agree with Lynn , I would recommend watching Julian’s excellent videos on the initial setup. There is also plenty of stuff in the wiki.

        If you don’t have a TNC or Radio with Built in TNC (Terminal Node Controller) then you will need a software based TNC such as AGWPE to interface your soundcard to APRSISCE/32

         

        Feel free to ask here for help if you get stuck

         

        Steve Daniels

        G6UIM

        Torbay Freecycle Moderator


        From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com ] On Behalf Of Lynn W Deffenbaugh (Mr)
        Sent: 08 February 2012 23:44
        To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
        Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup

         

         

        Watch Julian (G4ILO)'s introductory videos on the Wiki.  He even walks you through setting up your first RF port in the second video.

        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/

        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/initial-startup

        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/port-configuration

        Lynn (D) - KJ4ERJ - Author of APRSISCE for Windows Mobile and Win32

        On 2/8/2012 6:37 PM, tony leonardi wrote:

        Ok,

        so Steve i believe you sent me that password, correct?

        and do i plug the radio audio in to the computer and then it can be setup and were?

        i really haven't done this or have any experience before so more rudimentary Instruction would be helpful.

        i searched this group and online and had no luck 

        Thanks so much

        Tony

         


        From: Greg Depew <goatherder_4891@...>
        To: "aprsisce@yahoogroups.com " <aprsisce@yahoogroups.com>
        Sent: Wednesday, February 8, 2012 3:30 PM
        Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup


        Don't forget you also need a pass code to tx to the IS.

        Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

        -----Original Message-----
        From: Steve Daniels <steve@...>
        Date: Wed, 8 Feb 2012 23:15:08
        To: <aprsisce@yahoogroups.com>
        Subject: RE: [aprsisce] igate setup

         





        It will igate automatically for RX only make sure you have IS RF unticked in the APRS-IS port settings, If you plan to digipeat also some editing of the config XML file is required
        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/doc:digipeating
        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/doc:editing-xml-configuration
         
         

        Steve Daniels
        G6UIM
        Torbay Freecycle Moderator


        ----------------

        From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com] On Behalf Of kd6hni
        Sent: 08 February 2012 23:07
        To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
        Subject: [aprsisce] igate setup
         
         



        Hello there are no igates in my area and i need help setting one up a rx only.
        any help would be appreciated.
        Thanks
        Tony
        kd6hni




        ------------------------------------

        Yahoo! Groups Links

        <*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
            http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aprsisce/

        <*> Your email settings:
            Individual Email | Traditional

        <*> To change settings online go to:
            http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aprsisce/join
            (Yahoo! ID required)

        <*> To change settings via email:
            aprsisce-digest@yahoogroups.com
            aprsisce-fullfeatured@yahoogroups.com

        <*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
            aprsisce-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

        <*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
            http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/



         

        =

      =
    • Tony Leonardi
      Yes on the password and it is installed in a folder on the desktop. I am running xp home on this machine. I don t have gps clicked and I using the black
      Message 3 of 26 , Mar 1, 2012
      • 0 Attachment
        Yes on the password and it is installed in a folder on the desktop. 
        I am running xp home on this machine. 
        I don't have gps clicked and I using the black diamond with a vertical line. 
        Thx

        Tony Leonardi

        Leonardi Automotive

        Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

        Amateur radio license 
        http://www.qrz.com/db/KD6HNI
        Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.

        On Mar 1, 2012, at 1:05, "Lynn W Deffenbaugh (Mr)" <kj4erj@...> wrote:

         

        Do you have a valid APRS-IS password entered?  And do you have the .EXE installed in a directory NOT under one of Windows' "protected" directories, like NOT under Program Files?

        What version of WIndows and such are you running?

        Lynn (D) - KJ4ERJ - Author of APRSISCE for Windows Mobile and Win32

        On 3/1/2012 3:06 AM, Tony Leonardi wrote:

        Hello again 
        we'll I let it update and now I am back to no icon being reported. 
        It's seems to be gating traffic but I am back to not transmitting a icon. 
        I do seem to be beaconing, the I gate is kd6bni-1
        Any help here would be appreciated. 

        Tony Leonardi

        Leonardi Automotive

        Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

        Amateur radio license 
        http://www.qrz.com/db/KD6HNI
        Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.

        On Feb 8, 2012, at 17:05, "Steve Daniels" <steve@...> wrote:

         

        No Problem at all, for me at least. There are a few on the group doing SAR, for various Sheriffs Depts etc. When you get into it more, APRSIS has functions that help with Radio Direction Finding, and coordinating search areas, but lets get you going first before you get to the advanced features. (and there are lots, and growing)

         

        Steve Daniels

        G6UIM

        Torbay Freecycle Moderator


        From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com ] On Behalf Of Tony Leonardi
        Sent: 09 February 2012 00:28
        To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
        Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup

         

         

        Wow thanks so much guys I really appreciate the help 

        I'll give it a go. 

        Tony Leonardi

         

        Leonardi Automotive

         

        Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

         

        FCC Amateur Radio License: KD6HNI (http://tinyurl.com/6rdbz4y)

         

        Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.


        On Feb 8, 2012, at 16:17, "Steve Daniels" <steve@...> wrote:

         

        I would agree with Lynn , I would recommend watching Julian’s excellent videos on the initial setup. There is also plenty of stuff in the wiki.

        If you don’t have a TNC or Radio with Built in TNC (Terminal Node Controller) then you will need a software based TNC such as AGWPE to interface your soundcard to APRSISCE/32

         

        Feel free to ask here for help if you get stuck

         

        Steve Daniels

        G6UIM

        Torbay Freecycle Moderator


        From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com ] On Behalf Of Lynn W Deffenbaugh (Mr)
        Sent: 08 February 2012 23:44
        To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
        Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup

         

         

        Watch Julian (G4ILO)'s introductory videos on the Wiki.  He even walks you through setting up your first RF port in the second video.

        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/

        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/initial-startup

        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/port-configuration

        Lynn (D) - KJ4ERJ - Author of APRSISCE for Windows Mobile and Win32

        On 2/8/2012 6:37 PM, tony leonardi wrote:

        Ok,

        so Steve i believe you sent me that password, correct?

        and do i plug the radio audio in to the computer and then it can be setup and were?

        i really haven't done this or have any experience before so more rudimentary Instruction would be helpful.

        i searched this group and online and had no luck 

        Thanks so much

        Tony

         


        From: Greg Depew <goatherder_4891@...>
        To: "aprsisce@yahoogroups.com " <aprsisce@yahoogroups.com>
        Sent: Wednesday, February 8, 2012 3:30 PM
        Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup


        Don't forget you also need a pass code to tx to the IS.

        Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

        -----Original Message-----
        From: Steve Daniels <steve@...>
        Date: Wed, 8 Feb 2012 23:15:08
        To: <aprsisce@yahoogroups.com>
        Subject: RE: [aprsisce] igate setup

         





        It will igate automatically for RX only make sure you have IS RF unticked in the APRS-IS port settings, If you plan to digipeat also some editing of the config XML file is required
        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/doc:digipeating
        http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/doc:editing-xml-configuration
         
         

        Steve Daniels
        G6UIM
        Torbay Freecycle Moderator


        ----------------

        From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com] On Behalf Of kd6hni
        Sent: 08 February 2012 23:07
        To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
        Subject: [aprsisce] igate setup
         
         



        Hello there are no igates in my area and i need help setting one up a rx only.
        any help would be appreciated.
        Thanks
        Tony
        kd6hni




        ------------------------------------

        Yahoo! Groups Links

        <*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
            http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aprsisce/

        <*> Your email settings:
            Individual Email | Traditional

        <*> To change settings online go to:
            http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aprsisce/join
            (Yahoo! ID required)

        <*> To change settings via email:
            aprsisce-digest@yahoogroups.com
            aprsisce-fullfeatured@yahoogroups.com

        <*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
            aprsisce-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

        <*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
            http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/



         

        =

        =

        =
      • Lynn W Deffenbaugh (Mr)
        Do the following: 1) Ensure that Enables / Logging / File Enabled is checked 2) Bring up Enables / View Logs / APRS-IS 3) Ensure that the trace log is enabled
        Message 4 of 26 , Mar 1, 2012
        • 0 Attachment
          Do the following:

          1) Ensure that Enables / Logging / File Enabled is checked
          2) Bring up Enables / View Logs / APRS-IS
          3) Ensure that the trace log is enabled (click the menu if it says "Enable")
          4) Uncheck Enables / APRS-IS Enabled
          5) Re-check Enables / APRS-IS Enabled and watch the trace log

          Oh, also make sure Enables / Internet Access is checked. That'd kill it too.

          If you don't see anything obvious in the trace log, then close the client and e-mail the APRSIS32*.LOG files to KJ4ERJ@... with a note reminding me what I'm supposed to look for.

          Lynn (D) - KJ4ERJ - Author of APRSISCE for Windows Mobile and Win32

          On 3/1/2012 8:54 AM, Tony Leonardi wrote:
          Yes on the password and it is installed in a folder on the desktop. 
          I am running xp home on this machine. 
          I don't have gps clicked and I using the black diamond with a vertical line. 
          Thx

          Tony Leonardi

          Leonardi Automotive

          Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

          Amateur radio license 
          http://www.qrz.com/db/KD6HNI
          Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.

          On Mar 1, 2012, at 1:05, "Lynn W Deffenbaugh (Mr)" <kj4erj@...> wrote:

           

          Do you have a valid APRS-IS password entered?  And do you have the .EXE installed in a directory NOT under one of Windows' "protected" directories, like NOT under Program Files?

          What version of WIndows and such are you running?

          Lynn (D) - KJ4ERJ - Author of APRSISCE for Windows Mobile and Win32

          On 3/1/2012 3:06 AM, Tony Leonardi wrote:

          Hello again 
          we'll I let it update and now I am back to no icon being reported. 
          It's seems to be gating traffic but I am back to not transmitting a icon. 
          I do seem to be beaconing, the I gate is kd6bni-1
          Any help here would be appreciated. 

          Tony Leonardi

          Leonardi Automotive

          Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

          Amateur radio license 
          http://www.qrz.com/db/KD6HNI
          Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.

          On Feb 8, 2012, at 17:05, "Steve Daniels" <steve@...>wrote:

           

          No Problem at all, for me at least. There are a few on the group doing SAR, for various Sheriffs Depts etc. When you get into it more, APRSIS has functions that help with Radio Direction Finding, and coordinating search areas, but lets get you going first before you get to the advanced features. (and there are lots, and growing)

           

          SteveDaniels

          G6UIM

          Torbay Freecycle Moderator


          From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com ] On Behalf Of Tony Leonardi
          Sent: 09 February 2012 00:28
          To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
          Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup

           

           

          Wow thanks so much guys I really appreciate the help 

          I'll give it a go. 

          Tony Leonardi

           

          Leonardi Automotive

           

          Sonoma County Sheriff  Search & Rescue (www.sonomasar.org)

           

          FCC Amateur Radio License: KD6HNI (http://tinyurl.com/6rdbz4y)

           

          Sent via iPhone.  Please excuse brevity and spelling.


          On Feb 8, 2012, at 16:17, "Steve Daniels" <steve@...>wrote:

           

          I would agree with Lynn , I would recommend watching Julian’s excellent videos on the initial setup. There is also plenty of stuff in the wiki.

          Ifyou don’t have a TNC or Radio with Built in TNC (Terminal Node Controller) then you will need a software based TNC such as AGWPE to interface your soundcard to APRSISCE/32

           

          Feelfree to ask here for help if you get stuck

           

          SteveDaniels

          G6UIM

          Torbay Freecycle Moderator


          From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com ] OnBehalf Of Lynn W Deffenbaugh (Mr)
          Sent: 08 February 2012 23:44
          To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
          Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup

           

           

          WatchJulian (G4ILO)'s introductory videos on the Wiki.  He even walks you through setting up your first RF port in the second video.

          http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/

          http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/initial-startup

          http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/port-configuration

          Lynn (D) - KJ4ERJ - Author of APRSISCE for Windows Mobile and Win32

          On 2/8/2012 6:37 PM, tony leonardi wrote:

          Ok,

          so Steve i believe you sent me that password, correct?

          and do i plug the radio audio in to the computer and then it can be setup and were?

          i really haven't done this or have any experience beforeso more rudimentary Instruction would be helpful.

          i searched this group and online and had no luck 

          Thanks so much

          Tony

           


          From: Greg Depew <goatherder_4891@...>
          To: "aprsisce@yahoogroups.com " <aprsisce@yahoogroups.com>
          Sent: Wednesday, February 8, 2012 3:30 PM
          Subject: Re: [aprsisce] igate setup


          Don't forget you also need a pass code to tx to the IS.

          Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

          -----Original Message-----
          From: Steve Daniels <steve@...>
          Date: Wed, 8 Feb 2012 23:15:08
          To: <aprsisce@yahoogroups.com>
          Subject: RE: [aprsisce] igate setup

           





          It will igate automatically for RX only make sure you have IS RF unticked in the APRS-IS port settings, If you plan to digipeat also some editing of the config XML file is required
          http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/doc:digipeating
          http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/doc:editing-xml-configuration
           
           

          Steve Daniels
          G6UIM
          Torbay Freecycle Moderator


          ----------------

          From: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com [mailto:aprsisce@yahoogroups.com] On Behalf Of kd6hni
          Sent: 08 February 2012 23:07
          To: aprsisce@yahoogroups.com
          Subject: [aprsisce] igate setup
           
           



          Hello there are no igates in my area and i need help setting one up a rx only.
          any help would be appreciated.
          Thanks
          Tony
          kd6hni




          ------------------------------------

          Yahoo! Groups Links

          <*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
              http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aprsisce/

          <*> Your email settings:
              Individual Email | Traditional

          <*> To change settings online go to:
              http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aprsisce/join
              (Yahoo! ID required)

          <*> To change settings via email:
              aprsisce-digest@yahoogroups.com
              aprsisce-fullfeatured@yahoogroups.com

          <*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
              aprsisce-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

          <*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
              http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/



           

          =

        • =
          =
          Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.