Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

229D-I Women's Volleyball Tournament Set

Expand Messages
  • Volleyball ORG
    Nov 29, 2009
      D-I Women's Volleyball Tournament Set

      The national championship will be held on Saturday, December 19 at the St. Pete Times Forum

      Nov. 29, 2009
      INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee announced today the 64-team field for the 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.

      Bracket: http://www.ncaa.com/auto_pdf/p_hotos/s_chools/ncaa/sports/w-volley/auto_pdf/2009-WVB-D1Bracket

      The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were No. 1 Pennsylvania State University; No. 2 University of Texas at Austin; No. 3 Florida State University; and No. 4 Stanford University.
      The established bracketing principles of non-conference first- and second-round matchups were followed and team pairings were determined by geographical proximity.

      The Pacific-10 Conference led all conferences with eight teams selected. The Big Ten Conference and the Big 12 Conference garnered six teams each in the field while the Atlantic Coast Conference has five teams in the tournament. Two teams, Penn State and Stanford have earned bids to all 29 championships. Five teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: U.S. Military Academy, Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne, Niagara University, University of Northern Colorado and Texas Christian University
      In the 28-year history of the championship, 10 schools have been crowned champion, nine of which are in this year's bracket, including two-time defending champion Penn State.

      Additional past winners making the field are Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001, 04), University of Hawaii, Manoa (1982, 83, 87), Long Beach State University (1989, 93, 98), University of California, Los Angeles (1984, 90, 91), University of Nebraska, Lincoln (1995, 2000, and 06), University of Southern California (1981, 2002, 03), Penn State (1999, 2007), Texas (1988) and University of Washington (2005).

      First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites. A list of the first-round match-ups follows.


      December 4-5 at University Park, Pennsylvania
      No. 1 Penn St. (32-0) vs. Binghamton (15-15)
      Army (26-5) vs. Penn (22-5)

      December 3-4 at Gainesville, Florida
      Miami (18-12) vs. FIU (31-3)
      Col. of Charleston (18-12) vs. No. 16 Florida (23-5)

      December 4-5 at Columbus, Ohio
      No. 9 California (18-10) vs. Lipscomb (28-3)
      Cincinnati (25-10) vs. Ohio St. (24-9)

      December 4-5 at Los Angeles, California
      Georgia Tech (21-9) vs. Baylor (22-9)
      Long Beach St. (22-8) vs. No. 8 UCLA (23-8)


      December 3-4 at Champaign, Illinois
      No. 5 Illinois (24-5) vs. IPFW (20-11)
      Milwaukee (16-14) vs. Dayton (29-3)

      December 4-5 at Los Angeles, California
      Southern California (21-9) vs. Oklahoma (18-11)
      New Mexico (20-9) vs. No. 12 Hawaii (27-2)

      December 4-5 at Ann Arbor, Michigan
      No. 13 Michigan (24-9) vs. Niagara (23-8)
      Ohio (26-6) vs. Notre Dame (21-6)

      December 4-5 at Stanford, California
      St. Mary's (CA) (22-4) vs. UC Santa Barbara (22-7)
      Long Island (21-13) vs. No. 4 Stanford (21-7)


      December 5-6 at Tallahassee, Florida
      No. 3 Florida St. (28-2) vs. Alabama A&M (18-10)
      Florida A&M (17-9) vs. Jacksonville St. (26-7)

      December 4-5 at Lexington, Kentucky
      Kentucky (27-4) vs. Michigan St. (17-15)
      Clemson (23-9) vs. No. 14 Oregon (19-9)

      December 4-5 at Knoxville, Tennessee
      No. 11 Minnesota (24-8) vs. Louisville (21-10)
      Duke (27-5) vs. Tennessee (23-7)

      December 3-4 at Fort Collins, Colorado
      Colorado St. (23-5) vs. Middle Tenn. (25-9)
      Northern Colo. (21-11) vs. No. 6 Washington (23-5)


      December 4-5 at Ames, Iowa
      No. 7 Iowa State (25-4) vs. George Mason (23-8)
      Wichita St. (25-6) vs. St. Louis (24-7)

      December 4-5 at Lincoln, Nebraska
      Washington St. (18-12) vs. UNI (30-2)
      Coastal Caro. (20-13) vs. No. 10 Nebraska (23-6)

      December 4-5 at Baton Rouge, Louisiana
      No. 15 LSU (24-6) vs. Tulane (18-9)
      Arizona (19-10) vs. Texas A&M (18-10)

      December 3-4 at Austin, Texas
      TCU (26-6) vs. Rice (23-8)
      Texas St. (22-12) vs. No. 2 Texas (24-1)

      Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 11 and 12.

      The pre-determined regional sites are Stanford, California; Gainesville, Florida; Minneapolis, Minnesota; and Omaha, Nebraska. 

      Regional TV Schedule
      Gainesville, Florida: Regional Final - December 12, 4:00 p.m. ET, Live on ESPNU
      Minneapolis, Minnesota: Regional Final - December 12, 6:30 p.m. ET, Live on ESPNU
      Omaha, Nebraska: Regional Final - December 12, 9:00 p.m. ET, Live on ESPNU HD
      Stanford, California: Regional Final - December 12, 11:30 p.m. ET, Live on ESPNU HD

      The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by University of South Florida and Tampa Bay Sports Commission at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, Florida, on December 17 and 19.

      Volleyball World Wide
      Since 1994, the oldest, and largest, internet site dedicated to the sport of volleyball.

      Hotmail: Trusted email with Microsoft's powerful SPAM protection. Sign up now.