Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

FW: Applications to Conduct an NEH Seminar or Institute

Expand Messages
  • A.J. Wright
    fyi...aj wright // ajwright@uab.edu ... From: Iwan Morus [mailto:i.morus@qub.ac.uk] Sent: Tuesday, December 05, 2000 4:07 AM To: H-SCI-MED-TECH@H-NET.MSU.EDU
    Message 1 of 1 , Dec 5, 2000
    • 0 Attachment
      fyi...aj wright // ajwright@...

      -----Original Message-----
      From: Iwan Morus [mailto:i.morus@...]
      Sent: Tuesday, December 05, 2000 4:07 AM
      To: H-SCI-MED-TECH@...
      Subject: FYI: Applications to Conduct an NEH Seminar or Institute


      From: "Ferguson, Joyce" <JFerguson@...>


      ANNOUNCING:
      National Endowment for the Humanities (U.S.A.)
      Applications to Conduct an NEH Seminar or Institute
      in Summer 2002

      Application Deadline: March 1, 2001.


      Each summer the National Endowment for the Humanities supports
      faculty development through residential seminars and institutes.
      These projects are designed to provide teachers from across the
      nation with the opportunity for intensive study of important texts
      and topics in the humanities. Seminars and institutes are intended
      to foster excellent teaching by encouraging collegial discussion of
      humanities topics within close-knit scholarly communities. They
      also promote active scholarship in the humanities in ways suited to
      teachers at all levels from grade school through college.

      Now is a good time to begin drafting a proposal to direct a seminar
      or institute, or to contact a colleague whom you think might be
      interested in developing a project. The NEH is supporting 30
      projects for school teachers and 24 for college and university
      faculty in the summer of 2001. You may find lists of current
      projects at http://www.neh.gov/teaching/seminars1.html
      (school teachers) and
      http://www.neh.gov/teaching/seminars2.html
      (college and university teachers). If you or your colleagues would
      like to apply to offer a seminar or institute in 2002, please be in
      touch with one of the NEH program staff listed below to discuss
      your application. Program staff can answer questions, provide
      samples of successful applications, and comment on an informal
      draft. Staff can help anticipate questions that are likely to arise in
      the review process.

      The application guidelines can be found on the NEH website at
      http://www.neh.gov/grants/onebook/seminars.html. Printed copies
      can be obtained by e-mailing sem-inst@.... If you have any
      questions or suggestions, please do not hesitate to call on the staff
      at the NEH Division of Education Programs. For general questions,
      call Joyce Ferguson at 202-606-8463 or Jean Hughes at 202-606-
      8471, or contact one of the program officers listed below. We look
      forward to working with you.

      Thomas Adams 202-606-8396 tadams@...
      Douglas Arnold 202-606-8225 darnold@...
      Barbara Ashbrook 202-606-8388 bashbrook@...
      Judy Jeffrey Howard 202-606-8398 jhoward@...
      F. Bruce Robinson 202-606-8213 brobinson@...
      Robert Sayers 202-606-8215 rsayers@...
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.