Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

FW: Call for Nominations: The Harper Lee Award

Expand Messages
  • Amos J Wright
    From: owner-ALALA-L@server5.samford.edu [mailto:owner-ALALA-L@server5.samford.edu] On Behalf Of Bonnie Lee Sent: Tuesday, September 26, 2006 10:41 AM To:
    Message 1 of 1 , Sep 26, 2006
      From: owner-ALALA-L@...
      [mailto:owner-ALALA-L@...] On Behalf Of Bonnie Lee
      Sent: Tuesday, September 26, 2006 10:41 AM
      To: ALALA-L@...
      Subject: [ALALA-L:1816] FW: [southern_scribe] Call for Nominations: The
      Harper Lee Award

      The Alabama Writers' Forum, a partnership program of the Alabama State
      Council on the Arts,
      calls for nominations for Alabama's most prestigious award in literary
      The Alabama Writers' Forum invites nominations for the Harper Lee Award
      for the Distinguished Alabama Writer of 2007. The award will be made to
      a living, nationally recognized Alabama writer who has made a
      significant, lifelong contribution to Alabama letters. The Harper Lee
      Award recognizes those who primarily write creative nonfiction, drama,
      fiction, memoir, poetry, or a combination of these.  This is not an
      award for journalistic, historical, or scientific writing, nor is it an
      award for service, scholarly research, or teaching.
      The Harper Lee Award carries a $5,000 stipend and an original Frank
      Fleming bronze rendering of the Monroeville Courthouse Clock Tower.  The
      Harper Lee Award for 2007 will be presented with its sister award, the
      Eugene Current-Garcia Award for the Distinguished Alabama Scholar for
      2007, at the "Alabama Writers Symposium" at Alabama Southern Community
      College in Monroeville, Alabama, on May 4-6, 2007.
      To nominate, write a letter telling briefly why the writer is eligible
      to be considered for the award.  List her or his books, awards, and
      other credentials as a published writer. A brief resume of the writer
      (one-two pages maximum) is helpful but not required. Do not send
      photocopies of works, reviews, etc.   Do not send books.  The awards
      committee may request supplementary material.  Be sure to list the
      nominator's daytime phone number. Emailed nominations will be accepted
      if they are sent in an MS Word attachment. No faxed nominations.
      Nominations must be received by November 1, 2006.  All nominations and
      all deliberations of the awards committee are confidential. People may
      call the Forum office at 334 265 7728, for further information about the
      nomination process.  Email: writersforum@.....
      Mail letters of nomination to:  The Harper Lee Award Selection
      Committee, The Alabama Writers' Forum, PO Box 4777, Montgomery AL 
      1998: Albert Murray; 1999: Madison Jones; 2000: Helen Norris; 2001: Sena
      Jeter Naslund; 2002: Mary Ward Brown; 2003: Rodney Jones; 2004 Sonia
      Sanchez; 2005 Andrew Hudgins; 2006 Wayne Greenhaw.
      To  nominate candidates for THE EUGENE CURRENT-GARCIA AWARD for
      Alabama's Distinguished Literary Scholar 2007 contact the Association of
      College English Teachers of Alabama (ACETA) for guidelines: Dr. Steve
      Hubbard, executive secretary, ACETA, shubbard@....
      EUGENE CURRENT-GARCIA AWARD RECIPIENTS:  1998: Claudia Durst Johnson;
      1999: Philip K. Beidler; 2000: Donald R. Noble; 2001: Bert Hitchcock;
      2002: Trudier Lopez-Harris;
      2003:  William Hutchings; 2004: Benjamin Williams; 2005: Robert W.
      Halli; 2006: Nancy Grisham Anderson.
      The Harper Lee Award for Alabama's Distinguished Writer and the Eugene
      Current-Garcia Award for Alabama's Distinguished Literary Scholar are
      made possible through a generous grant from George and Eva Landegger.

      American literature

    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.