Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

67Yoga Sutras 2.28-2.29: Eight Rungs of Yoga

Expand Messages
  • Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati
    Jun 18, 2006
    • 0 Attachment
      Yoga Sutra 2.28-2.29:

      YOGA SUTRA 2.28:
      Through the practice of the different limbs, or steps to Yoga,
      whereby impurities are eliminated, there arises an illumination that
      culminates in discriminative wisdom, or enlightenment.
      (yoga anga anusthanad ashuddhi kshaye jnana diptih a viveka khyateh)

      yoga-anga= rungs of yoga (yoga = yoga; anga = rungs, limbs,
      accessories, components, steps, parts, members, constituents)
      anusthanad = by the sustained practice, observance, performance
      ashuddhi = impurities
      kshaye = with the elimination, destruction
      jnana = of wisdom, knowledge
      diptih = light, brilliance, shining, radiance
      a = until, up to
      viveka-khyatih = discriminative knowledge (viveka = discriminative,
      discernment; khyatih = knowledge, correct cognition, clarity,

      YOGA SUTRA 2.29:
      The eight rungs, limbs, or steps of Yoga are the codes of self-
      regulation or restraint (yamas), observances or practices of self-
      training (niyamas), postures (asana), expansion of breath and prana
      (pranayama), withdrawal of the senses (pratyahara), concentration
      (dharana), meditation (dhyana), and perfected concentration (samadhi).
      (yama niyama asana pranayama pratyahara dharana dhyana samadhi ashtau

      yama = codes of restraint, abstinences, self-regulations
      niyama = observances, practices, self-training
      asana = meditation posture (from the root ~as, which means "to sit")
      pranayama = expansion of breath and prana, regulation, control
      pratyahara = withdrawal of the indriyas (the senses), bringing inward
      dharana = concentration
      dhyana = meditation
      samadhi = meditation in its higher state, deep absorption of
      meditation, the state of perfected concentration
      ashtau = eight
      angani = rungs, limbs, accessories, components, steps, parts,
      members, constituents