Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

23Introduction to Yoga Sutras 1.19-1.22 Efforts and Commitments

Expand Messages
  • Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati
    Aug 18, 2005
    • 0 Attachment
      Introduction to Yoga Sutras 1.19-1.22
      Efforts and Commitments

      TWO KINDS OF ASPIRANTS: Two kinds of aspirants are described sutras
      1.19 and 1.20, both of whom can attain the goals of Yoga:

      1) ADVANCED: The first is those who have made tremendous advancement
      in previous lives and find samadhi easy to attain (1.19).

      2) OTHERS: Most people are of the second type, which means following
      five types of effort and commitment (1.20).

      FIVE CORE ATTITUDES AND GOALS: The five efforts to cultivate (1.20)

      SHRADDHA: Developing the faith that you are going in the right

      VIRYA: Committing the energy to go there

      SMRITI: Cultivating memory and mindfulness

      SAMADHI: Seeking the states of samadhi

      PRAJNA: Pursuing the higher wisdom

      CHOOSE YOUR LEVEL OF PRACTICE: In sutras 1.21 and 1.22, nine levels
      of practice and commitment are described, along with three further
      divisions for those doing intense practice. From those, you choose
      one of nine levels of practice and commitment for yourself. Everybody
      can progress and can have direct experience, and it is very useful to
      be aware where you are in your practices; great freedom can come from
      that awareness. (1.21-1.22)