Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Mandukya Upanishad - 12 Verses on Om Mantra

Expand Messages
  • Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati
    Excerpted from the approximately 23-page article on OM Mantra http://www.swamij.com/om.htm See also Seven Practices with OM:
    Message 1 of 1 , Oct 6, 2005
      Excerpted from the approximately 23-page article on OM Mantra
      See also Seven Practices with OM:


      The pinnacle of the wisdom of the ancient sages is contained in the
      terse twelve verses of the Mandukya Upanishad, which outlines the
      philosophy and practices of the OM mantra. It has been said that the
      juice of the Vedas is in the Upanishads, and the juice of the
      Upanishads is in the Mandukya Upanishad. OM Mantra is also suggested
      as a direct route to samadhi in the Yoga Sutras. The teachings of the
      Mandukya Upanishad are well worth deep study, discussion, reflection
      and contemplation. By faithfully and intently engaging these twelve
      verses, all of the other written and oral teachings can be explored
      as expansions of the foundation principles and practices encapsulated
      in this succinct summary. It is not only a most insightful writing,
      but also a complete outline for sadhana, enlightenment practices. The
      OM Mantra is a roadmap of the entire process of sadhana and a most
      practical tool for Self-Realization.

      Verses 1-2 describe the Self and the Absolute.
      Verses 3-7 explain the four levels of consciousness.
      Verses 8-12 outline the four aspects of AUM.


      1) ALL IS OM: Hari Om. The whole universe is the syllable Om.
      Following is the exposition of Om. Everything that was, is, or will
      be is, in truth Om. All else which transcends time, space, and
      causation is also Om.

      2) ATMAN HAS FOUR ASPECTS: All of this, everywhere, is in truth
      Brahman, the Absolute Reality. This very Self itself, Atman, is also
      Brahman, the Absolute Reality. This Atman or Self has four aspects
      through which it operates.


      3) FIRST IS WAKING / GROSS: The first aspect of Atman is the Self in
      the Waking state, Vaishvanara. In this first state, consciousness is
      turned outward to the external world. Through its seven instruments
      and nineteen channels, it experiences the gross objects of the
      phenomenal world.

      4) SECOND IS DREAMING / SUBTLE: The second aspect of Atman is the
      Self in the Dreaming state, Taijasa. In this second state,
      consciousness is turned towards the inner world. It also operates
      through seven instruments and nineteen channels, which engage the
      subtle objects of the mental realm.

      5) THIRD IS DEEP SLEEP / CAUSAL: The third aspect of Atman is the
      Self operating in the Deep Sleep state, Prajna. In this third state,
      there is neither the desire for any gross or subtle object, nor any
      dream sequences. In deep sleep, all such experiences have receded or
      merged into the ground of undifferentiated consciousness. Here, one
      is filled with the experience of bliss, and can also find the way to
      clearer knowledge of the two preceding states.

      6) FIND THE EXPERIENCER: The one who experiences all of these states
      of consciousness is the omniscient, indwelling source and director of
      all. This one is the womb out of which all of the other emerge. All
      things originate from and dissolve back into this source.

      7) THE FOURTH ASPECT IS TURIYA: The fourth aspect of Atman or Self is
      Turiya, literally the fourth. In this fourth state, consciousness is
      neither turned outward nor inward. Nor is it both outward and inward;
      it is beyond both cognition and the absence of cognition. This fourth
      state of Turiya cannot be experienced through the senses or known by
      comparison, deductive reasoning or inference; it is indescribable,
      incomprehensible, and unthinkable with the mind. This is Pure
      Consciousness itself. This is the real Self. It is within the
      cessation of all phenomena. It is serene, tranquil, filled with
      bliss, and is one without second. This is the real or true Self that
      is to be realized.


      described as having four states, is indivisible; it is pure
      Consciousness itself. That Consciousness is Om. The three sounds A-U-
      M (ah, ou, mm) and the three letters A, U, M are identical with the
      three states of waking, dreaming, and sleeping, and these three
      states are identical with the three sounds and letters. The fourth
      state, Turiya is to be realized only in the silence behind or beyond
      the other three.

      9) THE SOUND "A" IS WAKING / GROSS: Vaishvanara is the consciousness
      experienced during the waking state, and is A, the first letter of
      Om. That simple sound of A is first and permeates all other sounds.
      One who is aware of this first level of reality has fulfillment of
      all longings and is successful.

      10) THE SOUND "U" IS DREAMING / SUBTLE: Taijasa is the consciousness
      experienced during the dreaming state, and is U, the second letter of
      Om. This intermediate state operates between the waking and sleeping
      states, reflecting some qualities of the other two. One who knows
      this subtler state is superior to others. For one who knows this,
      knowers of Brahman, the Absolute Reality, will be born into his

      11) THE SOUND "M" IS DEEP SLEEP / CAUSAL: Prajna is the consciousness
      experienced during the state of dreamless, deep sleep, and is M, the
      third letter of Om. It contains the other two, and is that from which
      the other two emerge, and into they recede or merge. A knower of this
      more subtle state can understand all within himself.

      12) SILENCE AFTER "A-U-M" IS THE TRUE SELF: The fourth aspect is the
      soundless aspect of Om. It is not utterable and is not comprehended
      through the senses or by the mind. With the cessation of all
      phenomena, even of bliss, this soundless aspect becomes known. It is
      a state of nondual (advaita) reality—one without a second. This
      fourth state, Turiya, is the real Self or true Self. One with direct
      experience of this expands to Universal Consciousness.

    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.