Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

269Yoga Sutras 2.3-2.9: Five colorings that veil the Self

Expand Messages
  • Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati
    Mar 19, 2004
    • 0 Attachment
      Yoga Sutras 2.3-2.9:
      Five colorings that veil the Self
      (for more info)

      See also the Five Kleshas section of the Witnessing article:

      Reducing the colorings: The five kinds of coloring that veil the Self
      (2.3) are relate to spiritual ignorance (2.5), I-ness (2.6),
      attraction (2.7), aversion (2.8), and fear (2.9). The process of
      dealing with these coloring moves through four stages of active,
      separated, attenuated, and seed (2.4). (The process of coloring was
      first introduced in sutra 1.5)


      2.3 There are five kinds of coloring (kleshas): 1) forgetting, or
      ignorance about the true nature of things (avidya), 2) I-ness,
      individuality, or egoism (asmita), 3) attachment or addiction to
      mental impressions or objects (raga), 4) aversion to thought patterns
      or objects (dvesha), and 5) love of these as being life itself, as
      well as fear of their loss as being death.

      2.4 The root forgetting or ignorance of the nature of things (avidya)
      is the breeding ground for the other of the five colorings (kleshas),
      and each of these is in one of four states: 1) dormant or inactive, 2)
      attenuated or weakened, 3) interrupted or separated from temporarily,
      or 4) active and producing thoughts or actions to varying degrees.

      2.5 Ignorance (avidya) is of four types: 1) regarding that which is
      transient as eternal, 2) mistaking the impure for pure, 3) thinking
      that which brings misery to bring happiness, and 4) taking that which
      is not-self to be self.

      2.6 The colorings (klesha) of I-ness or egoism (asmita), which arises
      from the ignorance, occurs due to the mistake of taking the intellect
      (buddhi, which knows, decides, judges, and discriminates) to itself be
      pure consciousness (purusha).

      2.7 Attachment (raga) is a separate modification of mind, which
      follows the rising of the memory of pleasure, where the three
      modifications of attachment, pleasure, and the memory of the object
      are then associated with one another.

      2.8 Aversion (dvesha) is a modification that results from misery
      associated with some memory, whereby the three modifications of
      aversion, pain, and the memory of the object or experience are then
      associated with one another.

      2.9 Even for those people who are learned, there is an ever-flowing,
      firmly established love for continuation and fear a of cessation, or
      death, of these various colored modifications (kleshas).