Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

248Yoga Sutras 1.21-1.22: Levels of Practice

Expand Messages
  • Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati
    Feb 12, 2004
      Yoga Sutras 1.21-1.22: Levels of Practice

      In sutras 1.21 and 1.22, nine levels of practice and commitment are
      described, along with three further divisions for those doing intense
      practice. From those, you choose one of nine levels of practice and
      commitment for yourself. Everybody can progress and can have direct
      experience, and it is very useful to be aware where you are in your
      practices; great freedom can come from that awareness.

      1.21 Those who pursue their practices with intensity of feeling,
      vigor, and firm conviction achieve concentration and the fruits
      thereof more quickly, compared to those of medium or lesser intensity.

      1.22 Because the methods may be applied in slow, medium, or speedy
      ways, even among those who have such commitment and conviction, there
      are differences in the rate of progress, resulting in nine grades of