Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

243Yoga Sutras 1.17-1.18: Types of concentration

Expand Messages
  • Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati
    Feb 5, 2004
    • 0 Attachment
      Yoga Sutras 1.17-1.18: Types of concentration

      Building upon practice (abhyasa) and non-attachment (vairagya), the
      meditator systematically moves inward, through four levels or stages
      of concentration on an object, and then progresses to the stage of
      objectless concentration. Virtually all types, styles, methods, or
      objects of meditation are included in one of these four stages,
      levels, or categories.

      1.17 The deep absorption on an object is of four kinds, 1) gross
      (vitarka), 2) subtle (vichara), 3) bliss accompanied (ananda), and 4)
      with I-ness (asmita), and is called samprajnata samadhi.

      1.18 The other kind of samadhi is asamprajnata samadhi, and has no
      object in which attention is absorbed, wherein only latent
      impressions remain; attainment of this state is preceded by the
      constant practice of allowing all of the gross and subtle
      fluctuations of mind to recede back into the field from which they