Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.
 

Re: [WisCats] Excellent TNR webinar series coming in January!

Expand Messages
  • dreamer9458@aol.com
    Hi Thankyou forthe reminder I am still in LA working with ARNO but would apreciate a notice on the next seminars. Thankyou again. Judy ... From: Pilara
    Message 1 of 3 , Jan 4, 2006
      Hi 
      Thankyou forthe reminder I am still in LA working  with ARNO but would apreciate a notice on the next seminars. Thankyou again.
       
      Judy 
       
      -----Original Message-----
      From: Pilara Felgate <pfelgate@...>
      Sent: Wed, 21 Dec 2005 12:48:54 -0500
      Subject: [WisCats] Excellent TNR webinar series coming in January!

      Just another reminder ? sign up today!!
       
      _______________________________________
      Happy Holidays!
       
      Pilara Felgate
      Regional Coordinator - Chicago area
      Alley Cat Allies
      773-244-4049
      pfelgate@...
      www.alleycat.org
       
       
      From PetSmart Charities:
       
      We have some exciting webinars coming up in January!! Listed below are the
      details regarding the January sessions. Remember that the sessions fill up
      quickly, so you will want to register soon at
      Each session will be offered two times to give more people an opportunity to
      attend.
       
      Grantwriting for TNR Programs, Presented by Kit Jenkins, Grants Manager,
      PetSmart Charities
       
      Monday, January 9, 2006
      1st session: 8:30-10:00 pacific, 9:30-11:00 mountain, 10:30-12:00
      central,11:30-1:00 eastern
      2nd session: 12:30-2:00 pacific, 1:30-3:00 mountain, 2:30-4:00 central,
      3:30-5:00 eastern
      "So you want to apply for grant funding buy you don't have a clue about how
      to start? This workshop includes tips and instructions about general
      grantwriting for TNR programs (no matter who you're asking) and lots of
      specific
      information about what PetSmart Charities looks for in TNR proposals
      submitted for
      our grant funding. Also included are some tips about addressing the unique
      challenges of grantwriting for TNR and creative ideas about who to approach."
       
      How to Persuade Municipal Officials to Go with TNR, Presented by Bryan
      Kortis, Executive Director, Neighborhood Cats
       
       
      Wednesday, January 11, 2006
      1st session: 8:30-10:00 pacific, 9:30-11:00 mountain, 10:30-12:00 central,
      11:30-1:00 eastern
      2nd session: 12:30-2:00 pacific, 1:30-3:00 mountain, 2:30-4:00 central,
      3:30-5:00 eastern
      "Using Trap-Neuter-Return to work with feral cats on a community-wide basis
      impacts on a number of municipal concerns, including public health, animal
      control, wildlife, use of public property and quality of life issues. As a
      result,
      to effectively and legally practice TNR on a large scale, the approval and
      support of the local government is essential. This webinar will focus on
      practical techniques for persuading municipal officials to implement TNR
      programs.
      Topics covered will include evaluating local laws in order to determine
      precisely what kind of action you'll need municipal officials to take on
      your behalf,
      the infrastructure you should have in place before approaching officials, the
      data you'll need to build your case, what lines of arguments are effective
      and
      which are not, how to counter calls for feeding bans or trap and remove
      efforts, and how to respond
      to common questions from officials about liability, public health and
      wildlife."
       
      Feral Cats and Trap, Neuter and Return: What Recent Science Demonstrates,
      Presented by Dr. Margaret Slater, Professor of Epidemiology, Department of
      Veterinary Medicine Texas A &M University
       
       
      Wednesday, January 25, 2006
      1st session: 8:30-9:30 pacific, 9:30-10:30 mountain, 10:30-11:30 central,
      11:30-12:30 eastern
      2nd session: 12:30-1:30 pacific, 1:30-2:30 mountain, 2:30-3:30 central,
      3:30-4:30 eastern
      "Management of feral cats by trap, neuter and return (TNR) is still very
      controversial in some areas. There have been a number of recently published
      studies on TNR and issues related to wildlife and public health. Drawing
      from these
      articles, I will present the highlights of what is working and why, the
      validity of various claims for and against TNR and how this might affect your
      program, shelter or community. Topics such as wildlife and cats, rabies
      and cats and
      statistical models of cat population control will be included."
       
      If you aren't sure how webinars work, or would like to try a test run to make
      sure that your computer is set up and ready to go, please feel free to
      contact Mark Phillips at mphillips@....
       
      We hope to "see" you online!


      SPONSORED LINKS
      Barbie pet rescueAnimal rescueFeral cats
      Biology


      YAHOO! GROUPS LINKS




    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.