Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

10926Re: [TrackChasers] Re: Ransomville Figure 8

Expand Messages
  • Will White
    Sep 2, 2006
    • 0 Attachment
      Paul,

      Yes, you understood me about counting the inner oval. This was a weird
      situation that needed to be clarified.

      Which race team were you associated with?

      Glad you enjoy the web site.

      Will White


      Paul Brauer wrote:
      > Thanks Will,
      > So if I understand you correctly...
      >
      > -I have already seen many races at Ransomville.
      > -I had never seen anything on the inner oval and I really don't know
      > if countable racing has ever occured on it.
      > -So by what you said in the next to last paragraph, I could count
      > the inner oval?
      >
      > I'm just an amatuer in track chasing, as many years of working on a
      > race team kept me at the same 3 tracks weekly, but I'm more in it as
      > a friendly competition w/ some friends....but we do try to use your
      > rules as a guideline.
      >
      > Thanks for the great site and track information!
      >
      > Paul
      >
      > --- In TrackChasers@yahoogroups.com, Will White <trackchaser@...>
      > wrote:
      >
      >> Paul,
      >>
      >>
      >> Thanks for explaining the new Ransomville track layout to the
      >>
      > group.
      >
      >> The Ransomville "figure eight", as they call it, is actually a
      >> "double-0" and therefore falls under the "multiple oval" area of
      >>
      > the
      >
      >> TrackChaser rules. For our purposes, a figure 8 is a track with an
      >> intersection where the cars change direction at some point. In a
      >> double-0 (or "flagpole") race they continue to turn in the same
      >> direction (left or right) all the way around the course.
      >>
      >> The rule is pretty vague, and I believe it should be kept that way
      >> because the tracks can come up with so many possible future set-
      >>
      > ups that
      >
      >> we couldn't think of them all in advance. However, I think it will
      >>
      > help
      >
      >> if I try to give everyone an idea of how I will rule in these
      >> situations. To date, double-0 tracks have mainly consisted of a
      >> permanent outer/inner oval combination, where 2 existing tracks
      >>
      > are used
      >
      >> to former the course. In this case, I am ruling that anyone who
      >>
      > has
      >
      >> already counted either the outer or inner oval can count the
      >>
      > double-0 as
      >
      >> the oval they don't already have. As the rule states, no one can
      >>
      > count a
      >
      >> third track in addition to the 2 ovals. If you don't already have
      >>
      > either
      >
      >> of the 2 ovals, then you can count the double-0 as one of them
      >>
      > (but not
      >
      >> both).
      >>
      >> According to the rule, we cannot count a double-0 "in addition to
      >>
      > the
      >
      >> track or tracks that comprise it". My interpretation of this is
      >>
      > that if
      >
      >> one of the ovals that makes up the course is not an actual active
      >>
      > track
      >
      >> then you can't count the double-0 as a second track, only as a
      >>
      > first
      >
      >> track. This also applies to any flagpole race, since there is only
      >>
      > one
      >
      >> real track used in a flagpole race.
      >>
      >> Ransomville used a permanent, active kart track as the inner oval
      >> portion of their double-0. My ruling is that both tracks have to
      >>
      > be
      >
      >> active as regular ovals for motor racing, but they don't have to
      >> necessarily hold countable racing as regular ovals. The countable
      >>
      > oval
      >
      >> would take precedence over the noncountable oval in counting it as
      >>
      > a
      >
      >> "first" track. Thus, at Ransomville, if you had no previous tracks
      >>
      > and
      >
      >> only saw the double-0, you could count it as the outer oval. If
      >>
      > you had
      >
      >> no previous tracks and saw both the double-0 and regular (outer)
      >>
      > oval
      >
      >> racing then you can count two tracks (outer oval and inner oval).
      >>
      > If it
      >
      >> was possible to already have 2 ovals at Ransomville (did they ever
      >>
      > have
      >
      >> countable racing on the inner oval?) then you couldn't count the
      >> double-0 as a new track.
      >>
      >> This case reminds me that I never did add the "Track Rulings" page
      >>
      > to
      >
      >> the trackchaser.com web site. I realize it can be frustrating to
      >>
      > go to
      >
      >> one of these events, find that what they called a "figure 8"
      >>
      > really
      >
      >> wasn't, and go away not knowing if you saw anything that counts as
      >>
      > a new
      >
      >> track. Hopefully by posting some of my rulings and rules
      >>
      > interpretations
      >
      >> on the web site I'll be able to reduce the confusion somewhat.
    • Show all 6 messages in this topic