Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.
  • Back
  • About Group

  • Join Group
, added in the last 7 days

Group Description

Kevin R. Tipple, President & Moderator
Larry W. Chavis, VP & Moderator
Jay Hartman, Derringer Awards Coordinator

In April 1996, the members of Margo Power's shortmystery-l digest voted to become the Short Mystery Fiction Society (SMFS). While not a change of official standing, it spoke to our goals of better representing mystery & crime stories in the public eye.

Anyone can join the SMFS by free subscription to this Yahoo! Group. Members take part in any SMFS activity they wish, to the extent they wish. Membership only lapses if one unsubs or is banned from this Yahoo! Group.

Each January, members or mystery/crime publishers enter their favorite traditionally-published stories of the past year in our Derringer Awards. February-April, members judge & vote to honor one story up to 1,000 words; one 1,001-4,000; one 4,001-8,000; and one 8,001-20,000. These winners are announced May 1 along w/ a living writer chosen by 5-member exec panel to receive our Edward D. Hoch Mem'l Golden Derringer for Lifetime Achievement.

Share this Yahoo! Group on social networks


SMFS Facebook Group
Twitter @SMFSocy

Group Information

  • 1787
  • Mystery
  • Jan 26, 2000
  • English

Group Settings

  • This is a public group.
  • Attachments are not permitted.
  • Members cannot hide email address.
  • Listed in Yahoo Groups directory.
  • Membership does not require approval.
  • Messages from new members require approval.
  • All members can post messages.

Message History