Re: [SCA-Archery] Siegfired Needs Argumentation
- Here's some gasoline for the fire...
A true recurve has a curvature of the limb so that the string rests against
the limb at the curve.
If the limb is curved but the string does not rest against the limb it is a
"reflexed" limb not a recurve.
Bows of the Mongolian or Hun type are not, strictly speaking recurved limbs,
but "levered" limbs and in some configurations the string straddles the
levered portion of the limb but does not rest against it. Where do these fit?
In the case of a "true recurve", I have never seen nor been quoted period
documentation of its use. I have been exposed on many occasions to period
documentation of the "reflexed" type as described above, often being referred to as
"recurves". On some, only the tip of the bow was curved back in the immediate
area of the nock.
True English longbows have a set of characteristics which make them ELB (as
outlined by the English Longbow society).
Yet there were other configurations of the longbow which don't fit into that
strict scheme but are period.
And then there were flatbows, composites, bows with backing or laminations,
and of course the Crossbow.
All of which shooting characteristics would vary and in certian competitions
hold an advantage over another.
After being throroughly reminded that the SCA is a "fun" and "inclusive"
group there still seems to rise a bit of a conundrum even beyond the
classification of each configuration or whether a modern Fiberglas limbed recurve has an
advantage over a self Longbow or is even remotely periodesque........ It seems
what is fun for some is inequitable for others and vice versa. And, as I've
been told it doesn't have to be fair... "that's just the way its done!"
Being Argumentative (a little) and donning my flameproof undies.
In a message dated 3/4/04 3:32:54 PM, chaderin@... writes:
<< Poor, poor Siegfried. Here, I will offer something for you argue for
or against: "Recurves should never compete directly Longbows, it is
Now, keep in mind, that I don't necessarily believe that, but I have
heard it said and seen it written by other people.
- On 2 Mar 2004 at 16:39, Chad and Erin Wilson wrote:
> The rules for RR's state that you can shoot as many in a day as you wish, butFWIW, the "rules for RRs" vary from kingdom to kingdom. I believe
> only one may be submitted per day. In theory, if you had time to shoot 10 rr
> scores, then you could. And thus, have your highest score submitted.
that there are (or at least have been) some that require the archer
to declare that a given round is for their daily score *before* it is