Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

33790Re: [SCA-Archery] Archery rules question

Expand Messages
  • Jim Pickette
    Jul 1, 2013
    • 0 Attachment
      It seems that in all of these mentioned cases Honour was well served. We do not need to inspect or re-inspect a target, but in the most severe conditions.

      JoO

      ---- Chris Ivins <yuriilev@...> wrote:
      > Because I am disabled, I usually end up with someone retrieving arrows for me, but I always tell the retriever and marshals that if there is the slightest doubt, default it to the lower score/outer ring, that way there is no controversy about whether it 'cut' the line or not.
      >
      > - Iurii
      >
      >
      >
      >
      >
      > >________________________________
      > > From: Bernhard Rohrer <graylion@...>
      > >To: SCA-Archery@yahoogroups.com
      > >Cc: Suzanne Lacey <goldenhind05@...>
      > >Sent: Monday, July 1, 2013 11:44 AM
      > >Subject: Re: [SCA-Archery] Archery rules question
      > >
      > >
      > >
      > >
      > >
      > >
      > >
      > >As I said - my point is not about active cheating but about inadvertent falsification of results. Let me put it this way: I don't want to be scored higher on a miss, just because somebody touched my arrow and broke the line. I want to earn my points. And this does concern my honour.
      > >
      > >Am I making sense?
      > >
      > >/Arpad
      > >
      > >On 01/07/13 18:30, Suzanne Lacey wrote:
      > >
      > > 
      > >>I've seen some excited discussion of where exactly a line might be (I now use Sharpies to make novelty target lines very clear), but I've never seen any deliberate cheating in an SCA shoot. I agree that the loss of honor would be significant in our Society and never worth a point even if no one but the cheater knew. So, yes, most likely a deliberate omission.
      > >>
      > >>Suzanne
      > >>
      > >>
      > >>On Mon, Jul 1, 2013 at 9:32 AM, <drosen105@...> wrote:
      > >>
      > >> 
      > >>>I believe it's a deliberate omission since the SCA is based on honor and chivalry
      > >>>Rupert.
      > >>>
      > >>>
      > >>>
      > >>>Dave Rosen
      > >>>drosen105@...
      > >>>
      > >>>
      > >>>
      > >>>
      > >>>
      > >>>-----Original Message-----
      > >>>From: Bernhard Rohrer <graylion@...>
      > >>>To: SCA-Archery yahoogroups.com <SCA-Archery@yahoogroups.com>
      > >>>Sent: Mon, Jul 1, 2013 11:38 am
      > >>>Subject: [SCA-Archery] Archery rules
      > question
      > >>>
      > >>>
      > >>> 
      > >>>Greetings good gentles
      > >>>
      > >>>I have just come back to SCA
      > Archery after 10 year's
      > abstention and have reread
      > all rules to refamiliarise
      > myself. I have noticed with
      > interest that no rulset
      > mentions a rule that all
      > mundane archers have in
      > flesh and blood - an arrow
      > that got touched before it
      > got scored does not count,
      > as a touch can induce a line
      > break. Is this an
      > intentional ommission? If
      > so, I would be interested in
      > the intent behind it.
      > >>>
      > >>>YIS
      > >>>
      > >>>Arpad
      > >>>
      > >>>________________________________
      > >>>
      > >>>
      > >>
      > >
      > >
      > >
      > >
      > >
      > >
    • Show all 22 messages in this topic