Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

FW: [ANTHRO-L] NEH Announces Opportunities to Conduct Seminars and Institutes [f wd]

Expand Messages
  • Popplestone, Ann
    ... From: Anthro-L [mailto:Anthro-l@listserv.buffalo.edu] On Behalf Of Jarvis, Hugh Sent: Friday, January 16, 2004 3:25 PM To: ANTHRO-L@LISTSERV.BUFFALO.EDU
    Message 1 of 1 , Jan 16, 2004
    • 0 Attachment
      Message
       
      -----Original Message-----
      From: Anthro-L [mailto:Anthro-l@...] On Behalf Of Jarvis, Hugh
      Sent: Friday, January 16, 2004 3:25 PM
      To: ANTHRO-L@...
      Subject: [ANTHRO-L] NEH Announces Opportunities to Conduct Seminars and Institutes [f wd]

      [Fyi all. Details below. Hugh]
       
      -----Original Message-----
      From: Ferguson, Joyce [mailto:JFerguson@...]
      Sent: Friday, January 16, 2004 3:21 PM
      Subject: NEH Announces Opportunities to Conduct Seminars and Institutes

      ANNOUNCING:

      National Endowment for the Humanities (U.S.A.)

      Applications to Conduct an NEH Seminar or Institute

      in Summer 2005

       

      Application Deadline: March 1, 2004.

       

       

      Each summer the National Endowment for the Humanities supports faculty

      development through residential seminars and institutes.  These projects are

      designed to provide teachers from across the nation with the opportunity for

      intensive study of important texts and topics in the humanities.  Seminars

      and institutes are intended to foster excellent teaching by encouraging

      collegial discussion of humanities topics within close-knit scholarly communities. 

      They also promote active scholarship in the humanities in ways suited to

      teachers at all levels from grade school through college.

       

      Now is the time to draft a proposal to direct a seminar or institute,

      or to contact a colleague whom you think might be interested in developing a

      project.  The NEH is supporting 31 projects for school teachers and 20 for

      college and university faculty in the summer of 2004.  You may find lists of

      these projects on the NEH website at http://www.neh.gov/projects/si-school.html

      (school teachers) and http://www.neh.gov/projects/si-university.html  (college

      and university teachers).  If you or your colleagues would like to apply to offer a

      seminar or institute in 2005, please be in touch with one of the NEH program staff

      listed below to discuss your application.  Program staff can answer questions,

      discuss current program emphases, provide samples of successful applications,

      and comment on an informal draft.  Staff can help anticipate questions that are likely

      to arise in the review process.

       

      The application guidelines can be found on the NEH website at

      http://www.neh.gov/grants/guidelines/seminars.html. Please note that these new guidelines offer the opportunity to conduct seminars and institutes that may be as short as two or three weeks. If you have any questions or suggestions, do not hesitate to call on the staff at the NEH Division of Education Programs.  For general questions, call Joyce Ferguson at 202-606-8463 or Jean Hughes at 202-606-8471, or contact one of the program officers listed below. 

      We look forward to working with you.

                       

      Thomas Adams              202-606-8396  tadams@...

      Douglas Arnold              202-606-8225  darnold@...

      Barbara Ashbrook          202-606-8388  bashbrook@...

      Sonia Feigenbaum         202-606-8490  sfeigenbaum@...

      Gary Henrickson            202-606-8241  ghenrickson@...

      Judith Jeffrey Howard    202-606-8398  jhoward@...

      Robert Sayers                202-606-8215  rsayers@...

      // Unsubscribe/suspend (NOMAIL), INDEX or DIGEST modes... \\ | http://listserv.acsu.buffalo.edu/cgi-bin/wa?SUBED1=anthro-l&A=1 | \\ Archives: http://listserv.buffalo.edu/archives/anthro-l.html //
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.