Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Russian Orthodox Church Asked By Oldest Church Patriarchates to Observe its Canonical Territory

Expand Messages
  • ambrois@xtra.co.nz
    Russian Orthodox Church Asked by Oldest Church Patriarchates to Observe its Canonical Territory
    Message 1 of 1 , Sep 5, 2011
      Russian Orthodox Church Asked by Oldest Church Patriarchates to Observe its
      Canonical Territory


      Patriarchs of the four oldest churches of the world and the primate of the
      Cyprian Autocephalous Church called the Russian Orthodox Church to observe
      its canonical territory.

      "Due to the events which have recently taken place in the Orthodox Church,"
      the council stressed the necessity that the Orthodox Churches should respect
      and strictly observe the geographical borders of their jurisdictions "as
      defined by the holy canons and Tomoses on the foundation of these churches."

      With these words the pentarchy hinted at nonrecognition of a canonical
      status of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church-Moscow patriarchate as an "integral
      part" of the Moscow Patriarchate since the Constantinople Patriarchate
      stated in the Tomos on the autocephaly of the Orthodox Church in Poland
      issued in 1924 that it never legally renounced its jurisdiction over the
      Kyivan Metropolitanate. As for the whole Moscow Patriarchate and its
      canonical borders, the Constantinople Council observes the Thomos of 1589
      according to which the territory of the present-day Ukraine is not part of
      the Moscow Patriarchate.

      One should mention in the context of the above the commentary of the Kyivan
      Patriarchate saying that the Pentarchy is the way of the Constantinople
      Patriarchate to show the Russian Orthodox Church "who is the boss"
      kyrios.org.ua reported.

      Pentarchy (from Greek pente, five, and arche, rule) is a system of the
      superiority in the Christian Church of the five patriarchates (Rome,
      Constantinople, Alexandria, Antioch and Jerusalem) with the primacy of Rome,
      which came into effect after the Fourth Ecumenical Council of Chalcedon
      (451) when the Jerusalem Patriarchate was established.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.