Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Town Hall Meetings

Expand Messages
  • Charlie
    District C Town Hall Meeting April 2010 [Kristin s Headshot] Please join us as Councilmember James Carter will pass the torch by formally
    Message 1 of 1 , Apr 23, 2010
      District C
      Town Hall Meeting
      April 2010
      Kristin's Headshot


      Please join us as Councilmember James Carter will "pass the torch" by formally introducing Councilmember-Elect Kristin Gisleson Palmer to District "C" residents during two Town Hall meetings next week. Councilmember-Elect Kristin Gisleson Palmer will officially be sworn in as District "C" Councilmember on May 3, 2010. Both Town Hall meetings are open to the public and all community members are encouraged to attend.
      Tuesday, April 27, 2010 - 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.


      Where:                Craige Cultural Center 

                                  1800 Newton Street

                                  New Orleans, LA 70114 




      Wednesday, April 28, 2010 - 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. 


      Where:                 The Wisdom Reception Center 

                                   1359 Saint Bernard Avenue

                                   New Orleans, LA 70116

      NOLA City Council

      The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of New Orleans city government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes, and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish.


      The City Council is comprised of five districts and two councilmembers-at-large. Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Arnie Fielkow; Council Vice President and Councilmember-at-Large Jacquelyn Brechtel Clarkson; District "A" Councilmember Shelley Midura; District "B" Councilmember Stacy Head; District "C" Councilmember James Carter; District "D" Councilmember Cynthia Hedge-Morrell; and District "E" Councilmember Cynthia Willard-Lewis.

      Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.