Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.
 

Re: [LivingFR] Re: Buying Wands

Expand Messages
  • Daniel Grund
    It s not even clear that you could use it as an improvised weapon in one hand. After all, that would be using it in melee, in which case it is to be treated as
    Message 1 of 25 , May 1, 2009
      It's not even clear that you could use it as an improvised weapon in one hand. After all, that would be using it in melee, in which case it is to be treated as a quarterstaff, which cannot be used as a one-handed improvised weapon.


      From: chad <greyhawk.chad@...>
      To: LivingFR@yahoogroups.com
      Sent: Thursday, April 30, 2009 10:14:33 AM
      Subject: Re: [LivingFR] Re: Buying Wands

      Ok, I guess we will debate the rules here. :-)

      On Apr 30, 2009, at 9:24 AM, Kyle Turner wrote:
      > >>There is serious doubt that you can apply implement enhancement
      > bonus
      > to wielding a staff one handed as an improvised weapon
      >
      > (PH 240) "When used in melee, a staff applies its enhancement
      > bonus and critical damage dice just as a weapon does."

      Sure, but quote the whole thing! The entire passage is:

      > Unlike other implements, a staff also functions as a melee weapon
      > (treat it as a quarterstaff) . When used in melee, a staff applies
      > its enhancement
      > bonus and critical damage dice just as a weapon does.

      When used in melee, treat it as a quarterstaff. A quarterstaff is a
      two-handed weapon. On Page 215, we see:

      > A two-handed weapon is too heavy or unbalanced to use without two
      > hands.

      It is reasonable IMO to claim that you can try to use it as an
      improvised weapon, but then you are not using it as described in the
      complete version of your quote, and it becomes dubious (at best) that
      you can apply the enhancement bonus.

      *chad


    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.