Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

40th Benkyoukai (Study Forum) Masako O. Douglas "Learning and teaching kanji: For students from an alphabetic background"

Expand Messages
  • Keiko Schneider
    Dear fellow language professionals and techies, Info Page: SenseiOnline presents 40th
    Message 1 of 1 , Jan 7, 2004
    View Source
    • 0 Attachment
      Dear fellow language professionals and techies,

      Info Page:
      <http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/40thbenkyoukai.html>

      SenseiOnline presents 40th Benkyoukai (Study Forum)
      Masako O. Douglas "Learning and teaching kanji: For students from an
      alphabetic background"
      January 14-15th, 2004

      January 14th (Wednesday), 2004 at 3pm PST
      January 14th (Wednesday) 1pm Hawaii, 5pm CST, 6pm EST, 11pm London/GMT,
      January 15th (Thursday) 8am Japan, 10am Sydney, noon New Zealand, if
      this calculation is correct. To be sure, please go to
      (<http://www.timezoneconverter.com/>)

      How long?
      For about 50 minutes

      Whos is the invited speaker?
      Masako O. Douglas

      Assistant Professor at California State University, Long Beach. Her
      research interests are acquisition of literacy in Japanese as a
      foreign/heritage langauge, and heritage language education (young
      learners and college students). She is a coordinator of Japanese
      Heritage Language SIG. She developed a course for college students of
      Japanese as a heritage language at California State University, Long
      Beach and University of California, Los Angeles. She has been
      developing a curriculum for young learners of Japanese as a heritage
      language at Kodomo no Ie Japanese langauge school. Kanji is the one of
      her primary areas of research as a part of literacy acquisition. She
      wrote a book of kanji, "A Practical Guide to Learning Kanji: For
      Learners from an Alphabetic Background" (McGraw-Hill).

      Short description of the presentation
      This paper has two folds. First, it discusses affective factors that
      the learners from an alphabetic background commonly share and the
      importance of keeping them well informed about kanji learning,
      utilizing research findings in order to lower the affective filters.
      Then it discusses about developmental differences in acquisition of
      kanji from elementary to advanced levels, and kanji learning strategies
      and instructional support for each level.

      What is going to happen?
      Douglas sensei's paper is at
      <http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/douglas.html>

      So read the paper above and go to TAPPED IN with the new interface.
      There, you will be able to discuss this topic with Douglas sensei and
      others from around the world. TAPPED IN is open to everybody and the
      presentation will be done in English.

      Where?
      TAPPED IN is letting us use their space. Please go to
      <http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/40thbenkyoukai.html>
      for detailed Guest log in info. No sign up necessary. Please log in a
      few minutes early to get used to the environment or do practice before
      the actual session.

      Can I use Japanese?
      TAPPED IN can't yet show Japanese even if user computer is
      Japanese capable.

      If I can't attend? If I am too sleepy?
      The log of the event will be available in PDF format after several days
      after the event. Please visit:
      <http://www.tappedin.org/transcripts/artshumanities/>

      Please send any question to the Manager of senseiOnline at
      senseionline-owner@yahoogroups.com I look forward to seeing you all!

      Sincerely yours,
      Keiko Schneider

      --
      Keiko Schneider (kschnei@...)
      Bookmarks: http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks
      Manager, SenseiOnline:
      http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/senseiOnline.html
      Executive Board ATJ 2003-2006:
      http://www.colorado.edu/ealld/atj/
      HelpDesk volunteer at TAPPED IN: http://www.tappedin.org/new
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.