Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

28th Benkyoukai (Study Forum) Mary Sisk Noguchi "Guiding Your Students to a Japanese-English Kanji Dictionary"

Expand Messages
  • Keiko Schneider
    Dear fellow language professionals and techies, Please note in most parts of the world, this is on Nov. 7th (Thursday). Please don t miss it by mistake! Info
    Message 1 of 1 , Oct 31, 2002
    • 0 Attachment
      Dear fellow language professionals and techies,

      Please note in most parts of the world, this is on Nov. 7th (Thursday).
      Please don't miss it by mistake!

      Info Page <http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/28thbenkyoukai.html>

      SenseiOnline presents 28th Benkyoukai (Study Forum)
      Mary Sisk Noguchi "Guiding Your Students to a Japanese-English Kanji
      Dictionary"

      November 8th (Friday), 2002 at 9am Japan
      November 7th (Thursday) 4pm PST, 6pm CST, 7pm EST, 2pm Hawaii, 8th
      (Friday), midnight GMT, 11am Sydney, if this calculation is correct. To
      be sure, please go to
      <http://www.timezoneconverter.com/>

      How long?
      For about 50 minutes

      Whos are the invited speakers?
      Mary Sisk Noguchi

      Mary Sisk Noguchi is an associate professor at Meijo University in
      Nagoya, where she teaches intercultural communication and EFL. She
      obtained a Master's degree in Adult Education from the University of
      North Carolina at Chapel Hill. A lifelong kanji lover and learner,
      Noguchi has lived in Japan for sixteen years. She has taught Japanese to
      university and junior high school students in North Carolina, and to
      adults residing in Japan. Noguchi is co-author of "Iki Iki
      Nihongo," a TPR teaching resource book, and writes a column for the Japan
      Times called "Kanji Clinic." Her Web site (www.kanjiclinic.com) aims to
      provide practical advice and encouragement to kanji learners seeking to
      become literate in Japanese.

      Short description of the presentation

      Are you teaching kanji to students from non-kanji using countries? If so,
      please share with us your experiences and questions regarding Japanese-
      English character dictionaries. Which of the four comprehensive printed
      kanji dictionaries (Nelson, Halpern, Spahn/Hadamitzky, Haig) do you
      recommend to your students? (The differences among them are detailed in
      my paper). Which compact kanji guides/dictionaries have you and your
      students found useful? At what point do you advise your students to
      invest in a more comprehensive character dictionary? Online and portable
      electronic kanji dictionaries are also being widely used; to what extent
      are they making printed dictionaries obsolete? What are their advantages/
      disadvantages? Come and obtain the information you need to steer your
      students towards the character dictionary most appropriate to their
      particular kanji learning needs.

      What is going to happen?

      Mary sensei's papers are at
      http://www.kanjiclinic.com/langteachdict.htm
      http://www.kanjiclinic.com/kc20final.htm

      So read the paper above and go to TAPPED IN. There, you will be able to
      discuss this topic with Mary sensei and others from around the world.
      TAPPED IN is open to everybody and the presentation will be done in English.

      Where?
      TAPPED IN is letting us use their space. Please go to
      <http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/28thbenkyoukai.html>
      for detailed Guest log in info. No sign up necessary. Please log in a
      few minutes early to get used to the environment or do practice before
      the actual session.

      If I can't attend? If I am too sleepy?
      The log of the event will be kept in After School Online Room at TAPPED
      IN and TAPPED IN members can retrieve it anytime. For non-members of
      TAPPED IN, please write to Keiko Schneider.

      Please send any question to the Manager of senseiOnline at
      <senseionline-owner@yahoogroups.com> I look forward to seeing you all!

      Sincerely yours,
      Keiko Schneider

      --
      Keiko Schneider
      Manager, SenseiOnline: <senseionline-owner@yahoogroups.com>
      senseiOnline Info Page
      http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/senseiOnline.html
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.