Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

25th Benkyoukai: Shun Ito "Taking Gold Fish Out Into the Open Seas: Implementing Network Based Language Teaching in a Japanese College Classroom"

Expand Messages
  • Keiko Schneider
    Dear fellow language professionals and techies, Info Page SenseiOnline presents 25th Benkyoukai
    Message 1 of 1 , Jul 25, 2002
    • 0 Attachment
      Dear fellow language professionals and techies,

      Info Page <http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/25thbenkyoukai.html>

      SenseiOnline presents 25th Benkyoukai (Study Forum)
      Shun Ito "Taking Gold Fish Out Into the Open Seas: Implementing Network
      Based Language
      Teaching in a Japanese College Classroom"

      August 3rd (Saturday), 2002 at 8am Japan
      August 2nd (Friday) 1pm Hawaii, 4pm PDT, 6pm CDT, 7pm EDT, 11pm GMT
      August 3rd (Saturday) Sydney 9am, if this calculation is correct. To be
      sure, please go to Timezone Converter

      How long?
      For about 50 minutes

      Whos is the invited speaker?
      Shun Ito or Shunichiro Ito
      Aoyama Gakuin College
      Occidental College, BA Economics
      University of California at Los Angeles, MA Economics

      Retired from Japan Air Lines
      Advisor, Intage Corp., marketing research firm
      Lecturer, Bunkyo Gakuin College: Business Communications, Internet English

      Short description of the presentation
      Putting NBLT (Network-based Language Teaching)* into Practice

      Structural learning originated in UK has not been successful in Japan -
      Drills oriented class work is a long way to LL. Putting drills on
      computers or Internet did not improve its effectiveness much. Using
      Internet resources for authentic exploratory tasks and NBC (network-based
      communication) for authentic interaction, referred to as NBLT, is a far
      better and perhaps quicker way to communicative competence. Considering
      the leaning style of majority of Japanese learners leaning heavily toward
      "Global Type," communicative approach with NBLT may revolutionize
      Japanese EFL teaching if widely adopted. Currently, high school and
      college teachers prefer to stay in a Gold Fish Bowl of gakko eigo that
      can exist only in classrooms. Ito is advocating students as well as
      teachers jump out of the fish bowl and swim into the Open Seas of
      authentic tasks and interaction in entirely English language environment.
      For one thing it costs much less than "home stay" immersion.

      * Kern and Warschauer, Network Based Language Teaching, 2000

      What is going to happen?
      Ito sensei's paper in Japanese is at
      http://www.elearne.com/sensei/PracticingNBLT.htm

      His Conceptural Diagram in English can be accessed through:
      http://www.elearne.com/
      Please follow links where it says
      - Conceptural Diagram - BASE, WEP, NBC, Learning Style

      So read the paper above and go to TAPPED IN. There, you will be able to
      discuss this topic with Ito sensei and others from around the world. TAPPED IN
      is open to everybody and the presentation will be done in English.

      Where?
      TAPPED IN is letting us use their space. Please go to
      <http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/25thbenkyoukai.html>
      for detailed Guest log in info. No sign up necessary. Please log in a
      few minutes early to get used to the environment or do practice before
      the actual session.

      Can I use Japanese?
      TAPPED IN can't show Japanese even if user computer is Japanese capable.

      If I can't attend? If I am too sleepy?
      The log of the event will be kept in After School Online Room at TAPPED
      IN and TAPPED IN members can retrieve it anytime. For non-members of
      TAPPED IN, please write to Keiko Schneider.

      Please send any question to the Manager of senseiOnline at
      kschnei@... I look forward to seeing you all!

      Sincerely yours,
      Keiko Schneider

      --
      Keiko Schneider (kschnei@...)
      Bookmarks: http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks
      Manager, SenseiOnline:
      http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/senseiOnline.html
      Online Academic Conferences Chair, WAOE http://waoe.org
      HelpDesk volunteer at TAPPED IN: http://www.tappedin.org
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.