Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

19th Benkyoukai (Study Forum): Yasuhiro Omoto "Integrating the Internet to the classroom instruction: Student oriented Japanese language newspaper"

Expand Messages
  • Keiko Schneider
    Dear fellow language professionals and techies, Info Page http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/19thbenkyoukai.html SenseiOnline presents 19th Benkyoukai
    Message 1 of 1 , Feb 22, 2002
    • 0 Attachment
      Dear fellow language professionals and techies,

      Info Page http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/19thbenkyoukai.html

      SenseiOnline presents 19th Benkyoukai (Study Forum)
      Yasuhiro Omoto "Integrating the Internet to the classroom instruction:
      Student oriented Japanese language newspaper"

      February 28th (Thursday), 2002 at 4pm PST
      7pm EST, 6pm CST, 2pm Hawaii, midnight GMT, March 1st (Friday) 9am Japan,
      11am Sydney, if this
      calculation is correct.
      (To be sure, please go to Timezone Converter at http://
      www.timezoneconverter.com/)

      How long?
      For about 50 minutes

      Whos is the invited speaker?
      Yasuhiro Omoto

      Yasuhiro Omoto teaches Japanese at the University of California, Berkeley
      and maintains NihongoWeb site that supports teachers and learners of
      Japanese. It has about 100 visual aids and 2000 photos of Japan. You
      don't have to worry about copyright as long as you use it for educational
      purposes and please recommend to other teachers. Please take a look at
      Web Ring project that collects useful materials site such as NihongoWeb,
      Professor Ishida's site at Dartmouth College and Keiko Schenider's
      Bookmarks page.

      Short description of the presentation

      In this presentation, Omoto will talk about how we can utilize the
      Internet effectively in classroom activities. As a classroom project,
      students are asked to make a student oriented Japanese language
      newspaper. Through this classroom project, students will improve their
      four skills and also deepen the understanding of Japanese culture. Omoto
      will talk about how to motivate students and how to integrate this
      classroom project into regular classroom teaching.

      What is going to happen?

      Omoto sensei's paper is at
      http://www.nihongoweb.com/SenseiOnline/

      So read the paper above and go to TAPPED IN. There will be Omoto sensei
      and other participants. TAPPED IN is open to everybody and the
      presentation will be done in English.

      Where?
      TAPPED IN is letting us use their space. Please go to
      http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/19thbenkyoukai.html
      for detailed Guest log in info. No sign up necessary. Please log in a
      few minutes early to get used to the environment or do practice before
      the actual session.

      If I can't attend? If I am too sleepy?
      The log of the event will be kept in After School Online Room at TAPPED
      IN and TAPPED IN members can retrieve it anytime. For non-members of
      TAPPED IN, please write to Keiko Schneider.

      Please send any question to the Manager of senseiOnline at
      kschnei@... I look
      forward to seeing you all!

      Sincerely yours,
      Keiko Schneider



      --
      Keiko Schneider (kschnei@...)
      Bookmarks: http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks
      Manager, SenseiOnline:
      http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/senseiOnline.html
      Online Academic Conferences Chair, WAOE http://waoe.org
      HelpDesk volunteer at TAPPED IN: http://www.tappedin.org
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.