Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

47th Benkyoukai (Study Forum) Emi Ochiai Ahn "Student ePortfolios for National Standards Using WebCT's Student Presentation Tool"

Expand Messages
  • Keiko Schneider thru Saboten
    Dear fellow language professionals and techies, Info Page: SenseiOnline presents 47th
    Message 1 of 1 , Aug 9, 2004
    • 0 Attachment
      Dear fellow language professionals and techies,

      Info Page:
      <http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/47thbenkyoukai.html>

      SenseiOnline presents 47th Benkyoukai (Study Forum)
      Emi Ochiai Ahn "Student ePortfolios for National Standards Using
      WebCT's Student Presentation Tool"

      August 19th (Thursday), 2004 at 1pm PDT
      August 19th (Thursday) 10am Hawaii, 3pm CDT, 4pm EDT, 8pm GMT, 9pm
      London, August 20th (Friday) 5am Japan, 6am Sydney, 8am New Zealand, if
      this calculation is correct. To be sure, please go to
      (<http://www.timezoneconverter.com/>)

      How long?
      For about 50 minutes

      Whos is the invited speaker?
      Emi Ochiai Ahn

      Emi Ochiai Ahn is a residential faculty of Japanese at Mesa Community
      College, Mesa, Arizona. She holds a B.A. in English from Japan Women's
      University in Tokyo and an M.A. in TESOL from Michigan State
      University. She develops and teaches both face-to-face and online
      Japanese courses. She is an active member of the Arizona Language
      Association and the Arizona Association of Teachers of Japanese. Her
      fields of interest include distance teaching and learning, critical
      thinking theory in language teaching, educational media, and Chinese
      and Korean studies. More information is available at her website:
      http://www.mc.maricopa.edu/~emiahn/.

      Short description of the presentation

      This presentation will first address the importance of an explicit
      presentation of the National Standards for Foreign Languages (5 C's) to
      students. Teachers should discuss the 5 C's with students, instead of
      just quietly implementing the 5 C's into their teaching. To assess
      student performance on the 5 C's, ePortfolios are ideal, so in the
      second part of the paper, the benefits of ePortfolios will be
      discussed. The portfolios include compositions, graphics, video clips,
      and sound files. WebCT's Student Presentation tool works well for
      students to create their ePortfolios. The presenter will also share
      students' reactions to the project.

      What is going to happen?
      Ochiai sensei's paper is at
      <http://www.mc.maricopa.edu/~emiahn/SenseiOnlinePaper.htm>

      So read the paper above and go to TAPPED IN. There, you will be able to
      discuss this topic with Ochiai sensei and others from around the
      world. TAPPED IN is open to everybody and the presentation will be done
      in English.

      Where?
      TAPPED IN is letting us use their space. Please go to
      <http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/47thbenkyoukai.html>
      for detailed Guest log in info. No sign up necessary. Please log in a
      few minutes early to get used to the environment or do practice before
      the actual session.

      If I can't attend? If I am too sleepy?
      The log of the event will be available in PDF format after several days
      after the event. Please visit:
      <http://www.tappedin.org/transcripts/artshumanities/>

      Please send any question to the Manager of senseiOnline at
      senseionline-owner@yahoogroups.com I look forward to seeing you all!

      Sincerely yours,
      Keiko Schneider


      --
      Keiko Schneider (kschnei@...)
      Bookmarks: http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks
      Manager, SenseiOnline:
      http://www.sabotenweb.com/bookmarks/about/senseiOnline.html
      Executive Board ATJ 2003-2006:
      http://www.colorado.edu/ealld/atj/
      HelpDesk volunteer at TAPPED IN: http://www.tappedin.org/new
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.