Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

3275Special Event TESOL CALL-IS and IATEFL LTSIG, Sat 12 October 2013, 2pm - 9pm GMT

Expand Messages
  • letstalkonline2003
    Oct 8, 2013
    • 0 Attachment

      SPECIAL EVENT: TESOL CALL-IS & IATEFL LTSIG

      Saturday 12 October 2013, UTC 14:00 - 21:00 

      (Pacific 07:00 - 14:00 / Central 09:00 - 16:00 / London 15:00 - 22:00 / CET 16:00 - 23:00)


      Where: http://iatefl.adobeconnect.com/ltsig 


      Using Technology in Teaching: Principles in Practice

      Come join us for the first joint online conference by TESOL CALL-IS and IATEFL LTSIG with a full day programme. 


      Speakers include: Christel BroadyCarol ChapelleGavin Dudeney,Elizabeth Hanson-SmithDeborah HealeyNicky HocklyPhil Hubbard,Sophie Ioannou-GeorgiouPaige Ware & Shaun Wilden


      For the full programme please click here

      http://ltsig.org.uk/events/13-future-events/318-121013-special-event-using-technology-in-teaching-principles-in-practice.html


      *************************

      WELCOME ADDRESS

      UTC 14:00 (Pacific 07:00 | Central 09:00 | Eastern 10:00 | London 15:00 | CET 16:00)

      Paul Sweeney - LTSIG coordinator, UK

      Deborah Healey - CALL-IS coordinator, USA

      Moderator: Ellen Dougherty

      *************************

      OPENING PLENARY

      The case for technology and language learning - Prof. Carol Chapelle (CALL-IS)

      Moderator: Ellen Dougherty, UAE

      UTC 14:15 (Pacific 07:15 | Central 09:15 | Eastern 10:15 | London 15:15 | CET 16:15)


      What are the reasons for using technology for language teaching and learning in 2013? I will outline five lines of argument:

      * meta-analysis of comparison studies,

      * analysis of students' needs beyond the classroom,

      * students' need for training in language learning strategies,

      * the importance of connecting learners with appropriate language, and

      * the opportunities for cross-cultural learning.

      Each of the five lines of argument draws upon theory and research in different areas of applied linguistics, which I will point out as I describe each of the arguments.


      CAROL A. CHAPELLE is Distinguished Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University. She is editor of the Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics (Wiley, 2013) and co-editor of the Cambridge Applied Linguistics Series. She is past president of the American Association for Applied Linguistics and former editor of TESOL Quarterly. Her research investigates the use of technology in language learning and assessment, the topic of many of her books and research articles.


      *************************

      The role of online tools in teacher development - Shaun Wilden (LTSIG)

      Moderator: Paul Sweeney

      UTC 15:00 (Pacific 08:00 | Central 10:00 | Eastern 11:00 | London 16:00 | CET 17:00)

      In this talk I'll take a whistle stop look at how the online world has opened new opportunities for teacher development.  Once online was the domain of early adopter teachers, but now the Internet is full of sites, tools and teachers keen to share and develop. We'll look at how the Internet and technology has created a wide range of options from formal courses, to the rise of autonomous professional development. Taking in everything from PLNs to hashtags and curation tools a veritable smorgasbord for your afternoon conference delight.


      SHAUN WILDEN has been involved in English language teaching for over twenty years. He is currently the International House World Organisation Teacher Training Coordinator but also works as a freelance teacher trainer and materials writer for OUP - contributing materials to a number of coursebooks. Apart from that he maintains several online teaching sites including ihonlinetraining.net and is interested in the application of technology to teaching. He is also a moderator of the twitter #eltchat group which meets every Wednesday to discuss issues and ideas in ELT. Feel free to follow him @shaunwilden or read his blog (http://www.shaunwilden.com). When not sitting at a computer, Shaun enjoys growing food in his garden and the cooking it.


      *************************

      Designer learning - Nicky Hockly (LTSIG)

      Moderator: Paul Sweeney

      UTC 16:00 (Pacific 09:00 | Central 11:00 | Eastern 12:00 | London 17:00 | CET 18:00)

      Laurillard suggests that classroom practitioners need to become designers of effective learning experiences. This talk examines how we can implement a BYOD (bring your own device) approach in the language classroom, and the role of the teacher as designer of effective mobile-based communicative classroom tasks. Based on my own experience with BYOD, I suggest six parameters for the effective design and sequencing of mobile-device based tasks.


      NICKY HOCKLY has been involved in EFL teaching and teacher training since 1987. She is Director of Pedagogy of The Consultants-E, an online teacher training and development consultancy, and an international plenary speaker. She writes regular columns on technology for teachers for the ELTJ (English Language Teaching Journal) and for ETP (English Teaching Professional), and is co-author of How to Teach English with Technology, Learning English as a Foreign Language for Dummies, Teaching Online and most recently of Digital Literacies (2013). She has published an e-book, Webinars: A Cookbook for Educators, and is currently working on a book on mobile and handheld learning. She is joint Coordinator of the IATEFL Learning Technologies SIG, and a self-confessed technophobe turned technophile. 


      *************************

      TESOL Technology Standards: Why, how, and for whom - Deborah Healey, Phil Hubbard, Sophie Ioannou-Georgiou, Paige Ware, with help from Elizabeth Hanson-Smith

      Moderator(s): Jack Watson and Ellen Dougherty

      UTC 17:00 (Pacific 10:00 | Central 12:00 | Eastern 13:00 | London 18:00 | CET 19:00)


      In this session, some of the authors of TESOL’s Technology Standards will begin with a brief overview of the Standards, including why they were developed and how they differ from other standards. We will discuss how the Standards can be used in teacher preparation. We will then share a couple of vignettes related to specific standards and describe how teachers can use the vignettes to improve teaching with technology.


      DEBORAH HEALEY, Senior Instructor at the University of Oregon, has taught English and trained teachers for over 30 years.  She co-authored TESOL Technology Standards: Description, Implementation, Integration with Phiil Hubbard, Sophie Ioannou-Georgiou, Paige Ware, Greg Kessler, and Elizabeth Hanson-Smith, and worked on the ELT game, Trace Effects.


      PHIL HUBBARD is Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Director of the English for Foreign Students program in the Stanford University Language Center. For the past three decades, he has published and presented widely in the field of technology in language teaching and learning. His current interests focus on teacher education, learner training, listening, and curating digital media.


      SOPHIE IOANNOU-GEORGIOU has worked as a teacher and teacher trainer in a variety of contexts. She is currently an Inspector for English at the Cyprus Ministry of Education and Culture and continues to train in-service teachers  through the Cyprus Pedagogical Institute.


      PAIGE WARE is an Associate Professor at Southern Methodist University. She received her Ph.D. in Education at the University of California at Berkeley. Her research focuses on the use of Internet-based technologies for fostering language development and literacy practices among adolescent learners in school settings.


      ELIZABETH HANSON-SMITH is professor emeritus at California State University, Sacramento. Her website, Computers for Education, offers free resources for teachers, She has authored many articles and books on CALL pedagogy, most recently assisting with the TESOL Technology Standards vignettes and the ELT game, Trace Effects..


      *************************

      Digital literacies - Gavin Dudeney (LTSIG)

      Moderator: Heike Philp

      UTC 18:00 (Pacific 11:00 | Central 13:00 | Eastern 14:00 | London 19:00 | CET 20:00)


      This talk examines how the traditional 'three rs' (reading, writing and arithmetic), long considered the cornerstones of basic literacy/numeracy, have changed as we advance into the digital age. We will discover what it means to be digitally literate, explore the new types of literacy that have emerged alongside the advent of Web 2.0 and analyse why it is important to work with these literacies on a daily basis in our teaching.


      GAVIN DUDENEY is Director of Technology for The Consultants-E, working primarily in online training in EdTech, and in consultancy work in the same field. Gavin has been Coordinator and Journal Editor for the IATEFL LT SIG and - more recently - Honorary Secretary and Chair of the Electronics Committee (ElCom). A regular contributor to journals, Gavin is author of The Internet & The Language Classroom (CUP 2000, 2007), co-author of the award-winning How To Teach English with Technology (Longman 2007) and co-author of Digital Literacies (2013). He is currently co-authoring a book on mobile learning to be published in 2014.


      *************************

      The sky is not the limit: Connecting with elementary makers in the cloud - Christel Broady (CALL-IS)

      Moderator: Jack Watson 

      UTC 19:00 (Pacific 12:00 | Central 14:00 | Eastern 15:00 | London 20:00 | CET 21:00)


      Pupils are born into a digital world and used to navigating it for all of life’s facets. However, when they enter school they are often confused by a traditional learning and teaching environment, which is alien to them. In this presentation, a case will be made for a new definition of teaching and learning.

      Biodata:


      CHRISTEL BROADY, associate professor of graduate education and program director of the ESL teacher endorsement at Georgetown College, has developed and taught many education courses, including educational technology and digital learning. Her publications and presentations include book chapters, articles, international presentations, keynotes, and invited workshops. She is also involved in multiple global collaborations to create and disseminate educational technology knowledge across disciplines via MOOCS and other platforms also providing free training for teachers in developing countries, and collaborating on international book projects. She publishes daily in social media via 2 BLOGS, Twitter, and Facebook.


      *************************

      Joint closing session and open Q&A

      UTC 20:00 (Pacific 13:00 | Central 15:00 | Eastern 16:00 | London 21:00 | CET 22:00)

      Moderation: Paul Sweeney - LTSIG coordinator, UK and Deborah Healey - CALL-IS coordinator, USA



    • Show all 3 messages in this topic