Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

5442008Leadership in History Awards

Expand Messages
  • Everingham, Karen
    Jan 2, 2008

      AASLH invites nominations for the 2008 Leadership in History Awards. Now in its sixty-third year, the Leadership in History Awards is the most prestigious national recognition for achievement in the preservation and interpretation of local, state, and regional history. The Awards Program was initiated in 1945 to establish and encourage standards of excellence in the collection, preservation, and interpretation of state and local history throughout America.

      The AASLH Leadership in History Awards Program recognizes exemplary work completed by state or federal historical societies, institutions, or agencies; regional, county, or local historical societies, institutions, or agencies; specialized subject societies in related fields such as oral history, genealogy, folklore, archaeology, business history, railroad history, etc.; junior historical societies; privately owned museums or foundations; individuals; and organizations outside the field of traditional historical agencies. Nominees need not be members of AASLH to qualify.

      Nomination forms may be obtained by visiting the AASLH website, www.aaslh.org, or by contacting the AASLH office by phone, 615-320-3203, or email hawkins@aaslh. org.

      Nominations are due to state award representatives by March 1, 2008. Nominations are then reviewed by a national committee in the summer of 2008 with formal presentation of the awards made during the AASLH annual meeting, September 9-12, 2008, in Rochester, New York.


      Bethany Hawkins
      Program Associate
      American Association for State and Local History
      1717 Church St.
      Nashville, TN 37203
      Karen E. Everingham
      Executive Director
      Illinois Association of Museums
      1 Old State Capitol Plaza
      Springfield, IL 62701
      Fax: 217/558-1512