Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Qabalah 101 - Part 22

Expand Messages
  • John Gilbert
    Gentlepeople, This is Volume One Number 60 November 1, 2004 For my text I m using the translation of the Sepher Yetzirah Chapter Four available at
    Message 1 of 1 , Nov 1, 2004

      This is Volume One Number 60
      November 1, 2004

      For my text I'm using the translation of the
      Sepher Yetzirah Chapter Four available at
      and quote it as follows:

      Section 1. The Seven double letters, Beth, Gimel,
      Daleth, Kaph, Peh, Resh, and Tau have each two
      sounds associated with them. They are referred to
      Life, Peace, Wisdom, Riches, Grace, Fertility and
      Power. The two sounds of each letter are the hard
      and the soft, the aspirated and the softened.
      They are called Double, because each letter
      presents a contrast or permutation; thus Life and
      Death; Peace and War; Wisdom and Folly; Riches and
      Poverty; Grace and Indignation; Fertility and
      Solitude; Power and Servitude.

      The hard and soft sounds of these seven letters
      are typified by the letter Beth. The hard sound
      of Beth is "buh" as in the word "Bee." The soft
      sound of Beth is "vuh" as in "victory." It's a
      difference between an explosive sound and a soft
      sound. These seven "double" letters not only have
      two different sounds, they represent two
      opposites. These opposites are given in order.
      Thus Life and Death are attributed to Beth while
      Power and Servitude are attributed to Tau. The
      rest of the attributions are given in order.

      On the Tree of Life these seven letters are
      assigned to the seven vertical lines starting top
      to bottom, left to right. On the Tree of Life,
      Beth is placed between Sphere One and Sphere Six,
      Gimel between Sphere Two and Sphere Four, Daleth
      between Sphere Three and Sphere Five, Kaph between
      Sphere Four and Sphere Seven, Peh between Sphere
      Five and Sphere Eight, Resh between Sphere Six and
      Sphere Nine and Tau between Spheres Nine and Ten.

      Once, again these attributions are considerably
      different from those of the Hermetic Order of the
      Golden Dawn. But there's a great deal of wisdom
      to be found in the original teachings of the
      ancient rabbis. Both systems allocate the letter
      of Tau to the path between the Spheres of Nine and
      Ten. However, to move from the Ninth Sphere to
      the Fifth in the Hermetic Order requires one to
      travel the Path of Samekh which is something
      entirely different than the path of Resh which
      represents the opposites of Fertility and

      For a deeper understanding of the original
      attributions of the Hebrew letters to the Tree of
      Life, you may want to consider studying the
      materials offered by the Magickal Order of the
      Golden Dawn. http://MagickalOrder.com Another
      way is top meditate on these paths and
      attributions to tune into this ancient wisdom. In
      the meantime, have a great week.


      Gnostic News is a publication of the Universal
      Gnostic Church http://UniversalGnostic.com and Dr.
      John Gilbert http://GnosticYoga.com Copyright by
      John Gilbert and Universal Gnostic Church 2004.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.