"rpgmath13" <llangley@...> wrote:
> So Celene tries to con Bob for a few exchanges. It's Bob's action:
> "Ah! Look at the time! Well, maybe we could finish this later."
Bob moves one zone away
> (he could hold an action, yes?.
I'd say yes. The one zone move will count as a supplemental action
on the subsequent primary action. Note, though, that Bob can't
interrupt Celene to take his action. Bob will have to wait until
Celene completes her action.
> Celene doesn't want Bob to get away, so moves one zone
closer. "You know Bob, I can't
> wait on this deal, I have other investors lined up, but you are
such a good guy I thought I'd
> come to you first." Celene uses block against Bob moving away.
> Bob's action. Now Bob has to take an action to try and move.
Succeed or fail this brings
> us around to Celene.
> Celene's action. Now I'm stuck. In order to keep Bob from
walking away from the deal she
> has to block. But this is a stalemate since she can't also
attack. How do you play this?
If Bob's action in his turn was successful--meaning he broke the
Block, then Celene can re-establish it. If Bob both broke the block
and used a supplemental action to move one more zone away (similar
to the second example on page 61) then Celene has to catch up and
either try to re-establish the block or make an attack. If,
however, Bob's action was not successful in breaking the block, then
Celene can make an attack. The question I have myself is, does
Celene's attack negate her own block? I think in general I would
rule that physical attacks break one's own physical block, and
social attacks break one's own social blocks, but I'd bet there are
some circumstances where the attack would not negate the block. I
like the idea, though that the converse is not true. In other
words, a bad guy can block the heroes from moving by covering them
with a pistol, while in subsequent rounds makes Intimidation and
other social attacks.
> Finally another question about resources: Suppose Bob concedes
(buying the Bridge isn't
> that bad really) and forks over his life savings. What happens
then? Does Celene get
> access to Bob's resources for a little while?
I've done 'resource' awards two ways. One way is to award the
recipient a new aspect that can be tagged once for free in an
appropriate roll. Another way is to award the recipient with a free
use of the 'Money is no object' stunt (allowing a Resources roll to
be ++++ without rolling). Similarly, Bob should get a new
aspect 'penniless' or something that the GM can compel; or rule that
Bob suffers a -2 penalty on Resources for the rest of the game
session (just like the stunt).