Discarding the card ordered - Natty's column
Natty's column dated 9/5/2003 has been uploaded to our files area. You can read it by going to http://groups.yahoo.com/group/EuchreScience/files/Natty/2003/Natty_2003_09_05.html
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! SiteBuilder - Free, easy-to-use web site design software
> On question No. 1 Mr. McLeod is absolutely right: ThereThe term "foolish" is a bit strong. If you keep the trump in favor
> is no rule limiting the discard. In fact, if the lead
> player orders up and goes alone, there are cases in which
> it would be foolish for the dealer to keep a singleton
> trump, since the maker will most likely lead trump and
> take it.
of card X, you'll lose the trump on the first trick. But if you keep
card X in favor of the trump, which card will you ditch on the first
lead? I'll bet it's card X.
The term "foolish" can also be a bit weak. For example, my P once
ordered the R to me. Imagine his surprise when he lead a low trump
and I sloughed! (yes, it was an accidental misclick)
- One time to ditch a singleton low
trump when Leftie orders you alone
is when you have the aces in all
three other suits and a king or two
to go with them. Forget stopping
the loner; you have a shot at a
And if he doesn't lead trump? Well,
you've stopped the loner, right? At
least. . . .
There are other times, but it's a
> The term "foolish" is a bit strong. . . .