Changes to Authorization Rules (2)
- Q. Why is this happening?
A. A few reasons:
Firstly, there are people who are just not interested in heavy rapier
but are interested in cut & thrust. By removing the requirement for
heavy rapier as the first authorization, the time investment to play is
lowered and we will hopefully see more people playing.
Secondly, as has been shown in other Kingdoms (and in Ealdormere on the
armoured side), the world does not end and people are not killed if you
tell someone they can play with related weapons form X as long as they
practice with it a bit before using it outside of practice.
And really, seven authorizations is just too many.
Q. C&T as a primary authorization? Isn't that dangerous?
A. No more so than heavy rapier. You can break someone's rib with a
hard thrust. This comes down to training. The process for authorizing
C&T is a bit more rigorous than for heavy rapier to ensure that
percussive hits are well controlled and calibrated. Also, we have
excellent people researching and playing C&T, so there is every
confidence that the correct training will be given to everyone who wants
Q. But C&T is scary!
A. That's not a question! There is this mystique around C&T since it's
not so far removed from experimental status, and you're actually
*whacking* people with the sword. You shouldn't be whacking people
hard; it's still light calibration. As noted, the authorization process
for C&T is designed to ensure that the candidate has the required control.
It's definitely a different technique to learn, but that's all it is -
just another technique. Yes, you need some extra armour (and hand
protection is definitely a Good Idea even if it isn't required by the
rules) so the barrier to entry is a bit higher. Still, it's pretty easy
to minimally kit yourself up for C&T with something that goes into the
back of your mask and some elbow pads. The big thing is that by putting
it in the mainstream of our rapier program, that mystic reverence - or
fear - should start to fade away fairly quickly.
Q. C&T in melee?
A. No. (That's a society level rule.)