- I have a bone to pick here with the powers that be. See below. I have been an antique collector for over 50 years. When I first got involved the generalMessage 1 of 2 , Nov 26, 2011View SourceI have a bone to pick here with the powers that be. See below.I have been an antique collector for over 50 years. When I first got involved the general perception was an article has to be 50 years old to qualify. And, anyone who tried to pass off anything younger was regarded as a fraudulent individual. If things continue as they have, I could manufacture antiques today!The state of Georgia, at one time, provided historical Tags/license plates. This tag was available for cars older than 25 years. I find that honest enough. The antique automobiles were awarded a permanent tag, black or later, tan.So where ta heck did we go wrong? Who decided to adjust these things and grab the hands of time? Most importantly, who benefits from such, and did they have a hand in the decision? Suddenly my genuine antiques are to be classified with stuff only half as old, and thus devaluated. All this is a crock of horse hockey and allows flee market and such operators, to operate under false pretences. My opinion, of course.Just my thoughts to bend a few ears. So whatcha all think?............pete----- Original Message -----From: LouRuganiSent: Thursday, November 17, 2011 12:57 PMSubject: =The CROSLEY CAR OWNERS CLUB= Legislative updates:
New and proposed laws affecting our hobby:
Illinois Antique Vehicles: An expanded-use antique vehicle registration class that allows antique vehicles and to be driven without limitation from April 1 through October 31 was signed into law by Governor Pat Quinn. Under the new law, expanded-use antiques are limited to traveling to and from car shows, exhibitions, servicing or demonstration during November 1 through March 31. Regular antique vehicle registration is still available for a lower fee to those who would prefer only operating their vehicle on a limited-use basis throughout the year. Expanded-use antique registration plate annual fee is $45; limited-use antique plate two-year plates are $13. In Illinois, an antique vehicle is defined as a motor vehicle more than 25 years of age. The law becomes effective on Jan. 1, 2012.
Michigan Vehicle Miles-Traveled Tax: New legislation would prohibit the state from imposing a vehicle-miles-traveled (VMT) tax or mileage-based user fee on motor vehicles. This prohibition would also include any global-positioning-satellite-based toll or similar program that would provide for the locational tracking of private motor vehicles or users. In addition, the bill prohibits the state from accepting funding to implement a study or pilot program for the same purposes. As a general matter, SAN opposes VMT taxes, but supports policies that balance the interests of the motoring publicwith reasonable means to reduce reliance on foreign oil and create incentive-laden programs to help clean the air.
Nevada Emissions: Vintage vehicles and classic rods are subject to a 2,500 mile per year limit to qualify for an emissions exemption and must pass an initial two-speed idle emissions inspection to qualify for exemptions. Passed earlier this year by the Nevada State Legislature and signed into law by Governor Brian Sandoval.
A bill to allow antique, classic and collectible vehicles to register under a seasonal registration class was passed by the House of Representatives and is now pending in the Senate Transportation Committee. The measure would permit a collector car owner to specify which months they would like to register the vehicle. The fee would be set at the same amount as the annual registration fee on these vehicles, but insurance for the vehicle would only be required for the months specified in the seasonal use registration.
As the state legislatures close down their legislative sessions, here are automotive bills of 2011, some of which were enacted into law and others could be reintroduced in future sessions.
Washington S.B. 5586 wuld have prohibited cities or towns from restricting inoperable vehicles, including parts cars, stored on private property if screened from public view. Bill was not enacted into law.
New York A.B. 2080/ S.B./ S.B. 3213 would have created a $100 one-time fee that would replace the current annual fee of $28.75 for the registration of historical motor vehicles. Bill was not enacted into law.
Illinois H.B. 3256: Provides for an expanded-use antique vehicle registration class that would allow antique vehicles and replicas to be driven without limitation during the warmer part of the year, from April 1 through October 31. Bill was enacted into law.
North Carolina H.B. 187: Requires ethanol content labels on all pumps that dispense ethanol-blended gasoline. Bill was enacted into law.
November 26, Charlotte
Turkey Day Madness Car Show
Sponsor: Koss Motorsports
Info: smkoss@... or 803/320-3193
November 19-20, Philadelphia
Elegance of Speed Automobilia Show
Sponsor: Simeone Foundation Automotive Museum
Info: eleganceofspeed.com/ or harrellsminiatures@...