Illinois liberalizes vintage-car laws.
- View SourceLegislation (H.B. 3256) to provide for expanded use of vintage vehicles allowing such vehicles to be driven without limitation from April 1 through October 31 was signed into law by Governor Pat Quinn.
Under this new law, driving from November 1 through March 31 will still be limited to traveling to and from car shows, exhibitions, servicing or demonstration.
Regular vintage-vehicle registration is still available for a lower fee to drivers who'd prefer only using their vehicle on a limited-use basis throughout the year. The law becomes effective on Jan. 1, 2012.
The new expanded-use plate will cost $45, and limited-use plates will remain available at a fee of $13 for a two-year registration.
A standard registration plate for unlimited use is available for an annual $98 registration fee. (In Illinois, an vintage vehicle is defined as being more than 25 years of age.)
Thanks and congratulations to our CCOC members who took part in supporting this bill!