- May 21, 2008View SourceIn both college and pro statistical rules, the shot attempt would only count if the shot is made. Otherwise, it would be unfair to player being fouled and statistically innacurate as all missed shots must have a corresponding rebound.
I heard an interesting comment from a college stat crew once who told me that their coach insisted that if his player blocked a shot during a foul in the act of shooting, he should be credited with the block. Logic was that if the shot went in, it would be counted. His player was preventing that even if it was nullified by the foul. Interesting logic.
Date: Wed, 21 May 2008 04:51:30 -0700
Subject: Re: [APBR_analysis] Scorekeeping QuestionI'ld say if the initial attempt is made...then, the shot is implicated. The foul comes after the attempt.----- Original Message ----
From: Clay Dreslough <cjd@sportsmogul. com>
To: APBR_analysis@ yahoogroups. com
Sent: Wednesday, May 21, 2008 12:29:47 AM
Subject: [APBR_analysis] Scorekeeping Question
Dumb question. When a player is fouled going to the basket and he misses the
shot, is he credited with a Missed Field Goal?
E-mail for the greater good. Join the i’m Initiative from Microsoft.