Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.
 

Fw: Draconid Meteor Watch - CHECK THIS OUT TONIGHT

Expand Messages
  • Howard W3CQH
    METEOR WATCH: The annual Draconid meteor shower peaks on Oct. 9th at 0430 UT--in other words, tonight at 9:30 pm PDT or 12:30 am EDT. Don t expect a big
    Message 1 of 1 , Oct 8, 2007
      METEOR WATCH: The annual Draconid meteor shower peaks on Oct. 9th at 0430
      UT--in other words, tonight at 9:30 pm PDT or 12:30 am EDT. Don't expect a
      big display. The source of the shower, comet 21P/Giacobini-Zinner, is far
      away and unlikely to produce more than a few slow meteors every hour. It
      should be noted, however, that unexpected Draconid outbursts have happened
      as recently as Oct. 2005 resulting in dozens to hundreds of meteors per
      hour. Could tonight be such a night? If you decide to look, keep an eye on
      the northern sky (Draco is not far from the north celestial pole) during
      the hours around the predicted peak.

      PERUVIAN METEORITE UPDATE: Astronomers studying the Peruvian meteorite
      fall of Sept. 15, 2007, have analyzed infrasound records of the fireball's
      descent through Earth's atmosphere and estimated the impactor's kinetic
      energy: about 0.03 kton of TNT. So far more than 30 kg of the meteorite
      have been recovered by Peruvian authorities, but much more remains--indeed,
      says one researcher, there could be a "multi-ton monster" hiding at the
      bottom of the meteorite's curiously watery crater. Check
      http://spaceweather.com for more information.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.