Search the web
Sign In
New User? Sign Up
tenleytown
? Already a member? Sign in to Yahoo!

Yahoo! Groups Tips

Did you know...
Show off your group to the world. Share a photo of your group with us.

Best of Y! Groups

   Check them out and nominate your group.
Having problems with message search? Fill out this form to ensure your group is one of the first to be migrated to the new message search system.

Messages

  Messages Help
Advanced
I found this listed at aupark.org   Message List  
Reply | Forward Message #4856 of 16217 |
Re: I found this listed at aupark.org

AUPark.org is owned by a local lawyer that is a member of this
group, in fact -- me. Apologies to anybody who received the scam e-
mails. My account was hacked. I've removed what I believe are all
the trojan files from the server and updated the application where
the rogue files were placed. I've also asked my web host to help me
figure out what vulnerability was exploited.

The website addresses a contentious issue in the AU Park /
Tenleytown area, and the fact that so many local individuals
received the scam e-mails suggests that a local person with an
agenda hacked the site, which is sad indeed. None of this group
members' e-mail addresses would be on the server, or, indeed, on my
computer at home, as I read posts on the web.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if anything like this happens
again.

-- Jon

--- In tenleytown@yahoogroups.com, "Buddy Yingling" <buddydc1@...>
wrote:
>
> aupark.org is owned by a local lawyer. I found his name by going
to
> Network Solutions web-site and running a whois on aupark.org.
> Probably what is going on is the spammer is either spoofing
addresses
> or has a robot that has been able to exploit the aupark.org web
> server. Spoofing is most likely.
>
> -Buddy
>
> --- In tenleytown@yahoogroups.com, "chowhoundfred" <fvinson@>
> wrote:
> >
> > In tracing back this URL to its IP address (65.98.19.79), I see
> that
> > it goes to "servesomebody.ibusinesslawyer.com"! Has anybody
> contacted
> > webmaster@? Does anybody know if any group (like the au
> > park citizens assoc. is using this web address?
> >
> > ~Fred Vinson
> >
> > --- In tenleytown@yahoogroups.com, caliburn11 <no_reply@> wrote:
> > >
> > > Would someone please tell them that someone is sending scam e-
> mails
> > > that indicate that there is a bank scam operating via the
> aupark.org
> > > website:
> > >
> > > http://www.aupark.org/components/secure/hsbc/1/2/personal/pib-
> > > home/index.html
> > >
> >
>







Fri May 26, 2006 4:47 pm

jbbender
Offline Offline
Send Email Send Email

Forward
Message #4856 of 16217 |
Expand Messages Author Sort by Date

Would someone please tell them that someone is sending scam e-mails that indicate that there is a bank scam operating via the aupark.org website: ...
caliburn11
Offline
May 26, 2006
11:51 am

In tracing back this URL to its IP address (65.98.19.79), I see that it goes to "servesomebody.ibusinesslawyer.com"! Has anybody contacted ...
chowhoundfred
Online Now Send Email
May 26, 2006
12:05 pm

aupark.org is owned by a local lawyer. I found his name by going to Network Solutions web-site and running a whois on aupark.org. Probably what is going on is...
Buddy Yingling
buddydc1
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
1:27 pm

AUPark.org is owned by a local lawyer that is a member of this group, in fact -- me. Apologies to anybody who received the scam e- mails. My account was...
jbbender
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
4:47 pm

AUPark.org is owned by a local lawyer that is a member of this group, in fact -- me. Apologies to anybody who received the scam e- mails. My account was...
jbbender
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
4:52 pm

... I'd be very curious to know how many people on this list actually did receive the phishing email that caliburn11 posted. Phishing scams are by no means...
jackbarse
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
6:18 pm

Following up on Fred's question with some public info: - The domain aupark.org is registered to Jonathan Bender, at a postal address which corresponds to his...
jackbarse
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
1:31 pm
Advanced

Copyright © 2009 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Guidelines - Help